• Regular: $14.99

    Sale: $10.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $7.49

Details

The Vineyard

Author: Maria Duenas

Narrator: Malcolm Hillgartner

Unabridged: 17 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 10/03/2017

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

New York Times bestselling author María Dueñas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah.Mauro Larrea’s fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the wife of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family’s legacy. Before long, Larrea finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory.From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana, and onward to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, María Dueñas’s new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion.

Recommended

The Secret Life of Bees
by Sue Monk Kidd

The queen, for her part, is the unifying force of the community; if she is removed from the hive, the workers very quickly sense her absence. After a few hours, or even less, they show unmistakable signs of queenlessness --Man and Insects Chapter...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 01/28/2003

The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009

To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Harper Lee's Pulitzer prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep south—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatred, available now for the first time as a digital audiobook.One of the best-loved stori...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Reader
by Bernhard Schlink

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany.When he falls ill on his way home...

Narrator: Campbell Scott
Published: 11/11/2008

Life of Pi
by Yann Martel

Martel's novel tells the story of Pi—short for Piscine—an unusual boy raised in a zoo in India. Pi's father decides to move the family to live in Canada and sell the animals to the great zoos of America. The ship taking them across...

Narrator: Jeff Woodman
Published: 01/09/2003

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
by Lisa See

Chapter 1Milk YearsMy name is Lily. I came into this world on the fifth day of the six month of the third year of Emperor Daoguang’s reign. Puwei, my home village, is in Yongming County, the county of Everlasting Brightness. Most people who...

Narrator: Janet Song,Jodi Long
Published: 06/28/2005

The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter
by Carson Mc Cullers

Carson McCullers was all of twenty-three when she published her first novel, The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter. She became an overnight literary sensation, and soon such authors as Tennessee Williams were calling her "the greatest prose writer that the S...

Narrator: Cherry Jones
Published: 07/06/2004

The Lake House
by James Patterson

Six extraordinary children are trying to lead normal lives in the Rocky Mountain countryside. They live in different homes, with different families, but there is something powerful that connects them. Something that puts them in terrible danger.The ...

Narrator: Hope Davis
Published: 08/01/2005

Of Mice and Men
by John Steinbeck

Celebrating its 75th anniversary, John Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men remains one of America's most widely read and beloved novels. Here is Steinbeck’s dramatic adaptation of his novel-as-play, which received the New York Drama Critics̵...

Narrator: Gary Sinise
Published: 04/13/2011
{"id":"1805023","ean":"9781543640618","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Vineyard","subtitle":"","author":"Maria Duenas","rating_average":"0.00","narrator":"Malcolm Hillgartner","ubr_id":"1805023","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.74","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Malcolm Hillgartner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}