• Regular: $14.99

    Sale: $10.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $7.49

Details

The Vineyard

Author: Maria Duenas

Narrator: Malcolm Hillgartner

Unabridged: 17 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 10/03/2017

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

New York Times bestselling author María Dueñas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah.Mauro Larrea’s fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the wife of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family’s legacy. Before long, Larrea finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory.From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana, and onward to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, María Dueñas’s new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion.

Recommended

To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Harper Lee's Pulitzer prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep south—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatred, available now for the first time as a digital audiobook.One of the best-loved stori...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Art of Racing in the Rain
by Garth Stein

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny ...

Narrator: Christopher Evan Welch
Published: 05/13/2008

Water for Elephants
by Sara Gruen

Beautifully written, with a luminous sense of time and place, Water for Elephants tells of love in a world in which love's a luxury few can afford.

Narrator: David Ledoux
Published: 05/22/2006

Good In Bed
by Jennifer Weiner

At first my eyes wouldn't make sense of the letters. Finally, they unscrambled. Loving a Larger Woman, said the headline, by Bruce Guberman. Bruce Guberman had been my boyfriend for just over three years, until we'd decided to take a break three mon...

Narrator: Laura Hicks,Paula Cale
Published: 02/21/2012

The Lake House
by James Patterson

Six extraordinary children are trying to lead normal lives in the Rocky Mountain countryside. They live in different homes, with different families, but there is something powerful that connects them. Something that puts them in terrible danger.The ...

Narrator: Hope Davis
Published: 08/01/2005

A Thousand Splendid Suns
by Khaled Hosseini

AFTER MORE THAN TWO YEARS ON THE BESTSELLER LISTS, KHALED HOSSEINI RETURNS WITH A BEAUTIFUL, RIVETING, AND HAUNTING NOVEL OF ENORMOUS CONTEMPORARY RELEVANCE. A Thousand Splendid Suns is a breathtaking story set against the volatile events of Afgha...

Narrator: Atossa Leoni
Published: 05/22/2007

The Secret Life of Bees
by Sue Monk Kidd

An intoxicating debut novel of "one motherless daughter's discovery of...the strange and wonderful places we find love" —The Washington PostSue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 01/28/2003

Life of Pi
by Yann Martel

Winner of the Booker Prize and a New York Times bestseller.    Martel's novel tells the story of the amazing journey of an unusual boy named Pi.

Narrator: Jeff Woodman
Published: 01/09/2003

Middlesex
by Jeffrey Eugenides

In the spring of 1974, Calliope Stephanides, a student at a girls' school, Grosse Pointe, MI, finds herself drawn to a chain-smoking, strawberry-blonde classmate with a gift for acting. The passion that furtively develops between them - along with C...

Narrator: Kristoffer Tabori
Published: 03/01/2003
{"id":"1805023","ean":"9781543640618","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Vineyard","subtitle":"","author":"Maria Duenas","rating_average":"0.00","narrator":"Malcolm Hillgartner","ubr_id":"1805023","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.74","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Malcolm Hillgartner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}