The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care, Anne Boyer
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care

Author: Anne Boyer

Narrator: Anne Boyer

Unabridged: 5 hr 4 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 09/17/2019

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Medical

Synopsis

Award-winning poet and essayist Anne Boyer delivers a one-of-a-kind meditation on illness in the age of data?sharing her true story of coping with cancer, both the illness and the industry, in The Undying. A week after her forty-first birthday, the acclaimed poet Anne Boyer was diagnosed with highly aggressive triple-negative breast cancer. For a single mother living paycheck to paycheck who had always been the caregiver rather than the one needing care, the catastrophic illness was both a crisis and an initiation into new ideas about mortality and the gendered politics of illness. A twenty-first-century Illness as Metaphor, as well as a harrowing memoir of survival, The Undying explores the experience of illness as mediated by digital screens, weaving in ancient Roman dream diarists, cancer hoaxers and fetishists, cancer vloggers, corporate lies, John Donne, pro-pain "dolorists," the ecological costs of chemotherapy, and the many little murders of capitalism. It excoriates the pharmaceutical industry and the bland hypocrisies of "pink ribbon culture" while also diving into the long literary line of women writing about their own illnesses and ongoing deaths: Audre Lorde, Kathy Acker, Susan Sontag, and others. A genre-bending memoir in the tradition of The Argonauts, The Undying will break your heart, make you angry enough to spit, and show you contemporary America as a thing both desperately ill and occasionally, perversely glorious.

Recommended

Against Medical Advice One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery, James Patterson
Against Medical Advice
by James Patterson

Cory Friedman woke up one morning when he was five years old with the uncontrollable urge to shake his head and his life was never the same again. From that day forward his life became a hell of uncontrollable tics, urges, and involuntary utteranc...

Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Published: 10/20/2008

The Pact Three Young Men Make a Promise and Fulfill a Dream, George Jenkins
The Pact
by George Jenkins

George Jenkins, Sampson Davis and Rameck Hunt were three African American kids living in the inner city of Newark, all from broken homes, all living amid poverty, crime, and drug abuse. Two served time in juvenile detention centers. They met in high...

Narrator: Lisa Frazier Page
Published: 03/01/2007

On the Move A Life, Oliver Sacks
On the Move
by Oliver Sacks

When Oliver Sacks was twelve years old, a perceptive schoolmaster wrote in his report: “Sacks will go far, if he does not go too far.” It is now abundantly clear that Sacks has never stopped going. From its opening pages on his youthful ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 04/28/2015

The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly A Physician's First Year, Matt McCarthy
The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly
by Matt McCarthy

A scorchingly frank look at how doctors are made, bringing readers into the critical care unit to see one burgeoning physician's journey from ineptitude to competence.In medical school, Matt McCarthy dreamed of being a different kind of doctor&mdash...

Narrator: Matt McCarthy
Published: 04/07/2015

Call the Midwife A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times, Jennifer Worth
Call the Midwife
by Jennifer Worth

At the age of twenty-two, Jennifer Worth leaves her comfortable home to move into a convent and become a midwife in post war London’s East End slums. The colorful characters she meets while delivering babies all over London-from the plucky, wa...

Narrator: Nicola Barber
Published: 08/28/2012

Beauty in the Broken Places A Memoir of Love, Faith, and Resilience, Allison Pataki
Beauty in the Broken Places
by Allison Pataki

A deeply moving memoir about a couple whose lives were changed in the blink of an eye, and the love that helped them rewrite their future.Five months pregnant, on a flight to their "babymoon," Allison Pataki turned to her husband when he asked if hi...

Narrator: Lee Woodruff
Published: 05/01/2018

Gifted Hands The Ben Carson Story, Ben Carson, M.D.
Gifted Hands
by Ben Carson, M.D.

In 1987, Dr. Benjamin Carson gained worldwide recognition for his part in the first successful separation of Siamese twins joined at the back of the head. The extremely complex and delicate operation, five months in the planning and twenty-two hours...

Narrator: Dion Graham,Ben Carson
Published: 07/05/2011

Every Patient Tells A Story Medical Mysteries and the Art of Diagnosis, Lisa Sanders
Every Patient Tells A Story
by Lisa Sanders

A riveting exploration of the most difficult and important part of what doctors do, by Yale School of Medicine physician Dr. Lisa Sanders, author of the monthly New York Times Magazine column "Diagnosis," the inspiration for the hit Fox TV...

Narrator: Lisa Sanders
Published: 08/11/2009

Attending Medicine, Mindfulness, and Humanity, Ronald Epstein
Attending
by Ronald Epstein

The first book for the general public about mindfulness and medical practice, a groundbreaking, intimate exploration of how doctors think and what matters most—safe, effective, patient-centered, compassionate care—from the foremost exper...

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 01/24/2017
{"id":"3427168","ean":"9781980043119","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care","subtitle":"Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care","author":"Anne Boyer","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Anne Boyer","ubr_id":"3427168","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Anne Boyer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hours 4 minutes","abr_length":"Abridged: "}