The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care, Anne Boyer
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care

Author: Anne Boyer

Narrator: Anne Boyer

Unabridged: 5 hr 4 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 09/17/2019

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Medical

Synopsis

Award-winning poet and essayist Anne Boyer delivers a one-of-a-kind meditation on illness in the age of data?sharing her true story of coping with cancer, both the illness and the industry, in The Undying. A week after her forty-first birthday, the acclaimed poet Anne Boyer was diagnosed with highly aggressive triple-negative breast cancer. For a single mother living paycheck to paycheck who had always been the caregiver rather than the one needing care, the catastrophic illness was both a crisis and an initiation into new ideas about mortality and the gendered politics of illness. A twenty-first-century Illness as Metaphor, as well as a harrowing memoir of survival, The Undying explores the experience of illness as mediated by digital screens, weaving in ancient Roman dream diarists, cancer hoaxers and fetishists, cancer vloggers, corporate lies, John Donne, pro-pain "dolorists," the ecological costs of chemotherapy, and the many little murders of capitalism. It excoriates the pharmaceutical industry and the bland hypocrisies of "pink ribbon culture" while also diving into the long literary line of women writing about their own illnesses and ongoing deaths: Audre Lorde, Kathy Acker, Susan Sontag, and others. A genre-bending memoir in the tradition of The Argonauts, The Undying will break your heart, make you angry enough to spit, and show you contemporary America as a thing both desperately ill and occasionally, perversely glorious.

Recommended

God in the ICU The inspirational biography of a praying doctor, Dave Walker MD
God in the ICU
by Dave Walker MD

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Dave Walker
Published: 11/22/2018

Call the Midwife A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times, Jennifer Worth
Call the Midwife
by Jennifer Worth

List: $27.97

Sale: $19.57

Club: $13.98

Narrator: Nicola Barber
Published: 08/28/2012

The Valedictorian of Being Dead The True Story of Dying Ten Times to Live, Heather B. Armstrong
The Valedictorian of Being Dead
by Heather B. Armstrong

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Heather B. Armstrong
Published: 04/23/2019

Hidden Valley Road Inside the Mind of an American Family, Robert Kolker
Hidden Valley Road
by Robert Kolker

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 04/07/2020

Playing God The Evolution of a Modern Surgeon, MD Youn
Playing God
by MD Youn

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Kyle Tait
Published: 09/17/2019

Anatomy of an Illness as Perceived by the Patient Reflections on Healing and Regeneration, Norman Cousins
Anatomy of an Illness as Perceived by...
by Norman Cousins

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mikael Naramore
Published: 07/30/2019

Beauty in the Broken Places A Memoir of Love, Faith, and Resilience, Allison Pataki
Beauty in the Broken Places
by Allison Pataki

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Lee Woodruff
Published: 05/01/2018

Against Medical Advice One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery, James Patterson
Against Medical Advice
by James Patterson

List: $14.98

Sale: $10.49

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Published: 10/20/2008

Attending Medicine, Mindfulness, and Humanity, Ronald Epstein
Attending
by Ronald Epstein

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 01/24/2017
{"id":"3427168","ean":"9781980043119","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care","subtitle":"Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care","author":"Anne Boyer","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Anne Boyer","ubr_id":"3427168","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Anne Boyer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hours 4 minutes","abr_length":"Abridged: "}