The Thing with Feathers, McCall Hoyle
  • List: $20.99  |  Sale: $14.70
    Club: $10.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Thing with Feathers

Author: McCall Hoyle

Narrator: Nora Hunter

Unabridged: 7 hr 18 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blink

Published: 09/05/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Disabilities & Special Needs

Synopsis

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

Recommended

Colin Fischer, Ashley Edward Miller
Colin Fischer
by Ashley Edward Miller

Encyclopedia Brown from the screenwriting duo behind X-Men: First Class and Thor! Colin Fischer cannot stand to be touched. He does not like the color blue. He needs index cards to recognize facial expressions. But Colin is Wayne Connelly's best--an...

Narrator: Jesse Eisenberg
Published: 11/01/2012

The Silence Between Us, Alison Gervais
The Silence Between Us
by Alison Gervais

<p>Moving halfway across the country to Colorado right before senior year isn&rsquo;t Maya&rsquo;s idea of a good time. Leaving behind Pratt School for the Deaf where she&rsquo;s been a student for years only to attend a hearing s...

Narrator: Unknown
Published: 08/13/2019

Blind, Rachel Dewoskin
Blind
by Rachel Dewoskin

When Emma Sasha Silver loses her eyesight in a nightmare accident, she must relearn everything from walking across the street to recognizing her own sisters to imagining colors. One of seven children, Emma used to be the invisible kid, but now it se...

Narrator: Annalie Gernert
Published: 08/07/2014

Meet the Sky, McCall Hoyle
Meet the Sky
by McCall Hoyle

From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult novel, Meet the Sky, a story of love, letting go, and the unstoppable power of nature.It all started with the accident. The one that caused Sophie’s dad to walk out of her life. Th...

Narrator: Morgan Fairbanks
Published: 09/04/2018

Stoner & Spaz, Ronald Koertge
Stoner & Spaz
by Ronald Koertge

For sixteen-year-old Ben Bancroft – a kid with cerebral palsy, no parents, and an overprotective grandmother – the closest thing to happiness is hunkering alone in the back of the Rialto Theatre and watching Bride of Frankenstein for the...

Narrator: Josh Hamilton
Published: 01/28/2003

This Story Is a Lie, Tom Pollock
This Story Is a Lie
by Tom Pollock

A YA thriller described as The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time meets John le Carre, about a teen math prodigy with an extreme anxiety disorder who finds himself caught in a web of lies and conspiracies after an assassination attempt on...

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 08/07/2018

Marcelo in the Real World, Francisco Stork
Marcelo in the Real World
by Francisco Stork

Marcelo Sandoval hears music that nobody else can hear–part of an autism-like condition that no doctor has been able to identify. But his father has never fully believed in the music or Marcelo’s differences, and he challenges Marcelo to...

Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Published: 03/10/2009

Accidents of Nature, Harriet McBryde Johnson
Accidents of Nature
by Harriet McBryde Johnson

Seventeen-year-old Jean has cerebral palsy and gets around in a wheelchair, but she’s always believed she’s just the same as everyone else. She goes to normal school and has normal friends. She’s never really known another disabled...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 05/23/2006

The Running Dream, Wendelin Van Draanen
The Running Dream
by Wendelin Van Draanen

The acclaimed author of Flipped delivers a powerful and healing story that’s perfect for the millions who watch the Olympics or anyone who’s ever thought that something was impossible. Readers will revel in the story of a girl who p...

Narrator: Laura Flanagan
Published: 01/11/2011
{"id":"2276297","ean":"9780310763864","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Thing with Feathers","subtitle":"","author":"McCall Hoyle","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Nora Hunter","ubr_id":"2276297","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Nora Hunter","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}