The Tender Bar: A Memoir A Memoir, J. R. Moehringer
  • List: $22.98  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Author: J. R. Moehringer

Narrator: Adam Grupper

Unabridged: 16 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 09/05/2017

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Recommended

Bitter is the New Black Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry A Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office, Jen Lancaster
Bitter is the New Black
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 11 hoursThis is the smart-mouthed, soul- searching story of a woman trying to figure out what happens next when she's gone from six figures to unemployment checks and she stops to reconsider some of the less-than-rosy attitudes and valu...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Such a Pretty Fat One Narcissist's Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, Or Why Pi e Is Not the Answer, Jen Lancaster
Such a Pretty Fat
by Jen Lancaster

A NOTE FROM JEN LANCASTER:"To whom the fat rolls…I'm tired of books where a self-loathing heroine is teased to the point where she starves herself skinny in hopes of a fabulous new life. And I hate the message that women can't poss...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Pretty in Plaid, Jen Lancaster
Pretty in Plaid
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged CDs * 7 CDs, 9 hours The hardcover debut from the New York Times– bestselling author of Such a Pretty Fat.

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

My Fair Lazy One Reality Television Addict's Attempt to Discover If Not Being a Dumb Ass Is t he New Black, or, a Culture-Up Manifesto, Jen Lancaster
My Fair Lazy
by Jen Lancaster

It's a JENaissance! The New York Times bestselling author of Pretty in Plaid gets her culture on. Readers have followed Jen Lancaster through job loss, sucky city living, weight loss attempts, and 1980s nostalgia. Now Jen chronicles her efforts to...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/04/2010

Stolen Innocence My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs, Elissa Wall
Stolen Innocence
by Elissa Wall

In September 2007, a packed courtroom in St. George, Utah, sat hushed as Elissa Wall, the star witness against polygamous sect leader Warren Jeffs, gave captivating testimony of how Jeffs forced her to marry her first cousin at age fourteen. This ha...

Narrator: Renee Raudman
Published: 06/02/2008

You Better Not Cry, Augusten Burroughs
You Better Not Cry
by Augusten Burroughs

You've eaten too much candy at Christmas…but have you ever eaten the face off a six-footstuffed Santa? You've seen gingerbread houses…but have you ever made your own gingerbread tenement? You've woken up with a hangover…but have...

Narrator: Augusten Burroughs
Published: 10/27/2009

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Candy Girl A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper, Diablo Cody
Candy Girl
by Diablo Cody

Decreed by David Letterman (tongue in cheek) on CBS TV's The Late Show to be the pick of "Dave's Book Club 2006," Candy Girl is the story of a young writer who dared to bare it all as a stripper. At the age of twenty-four, Diablo Cody decided there ...

Narrator: Natalie Moore
Published: 04/18/2008

Lucky, Alice Sebold
Lucky
by Alice Sebold

The critically acclaimed memoir from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lovely Bones In a memoir hailed for its searing candor and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was utterly transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college ...

Narrator: Alice Sebold
Published: 01/01/2003
{"id":"1771038","ean":"9781549195273","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Tender Bar: A Memoir","subtitle":"A Memoir","author":"J. R. Moehringer","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Adam Grupper","ubr_id":"1771038","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.94","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Adam Grupper","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 16 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}