• Regular: $22.98

    Sale: $16.09 (30% Off)

    Club: $11.49

Details

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Author: J. R. Moehringer

Narrator: Adam Grupper

Unabridged: 16 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 09/05/2017

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Recommended

Name All the Animals
by Alison Smith

A luminous, true story, Name All the Animals is an unparalleled account of grief and secret love: the tale of a family clinging to the memory of a lost child, and a young woman struggling to define herself in the wake of his loss. As children, sibl...

Narrator: Alison Smith
Published: 01/27/2004

Bitter is the New Black
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 11 hoursThis is the smart-mouthed, soul- searching story of a woman trying to figure out what happens next when she's gone from six figures to unemployment checks and she stops to reconsider some of the less-than-rosy attitudes and valu...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Beautiful Boy
by David Sheff

David Sheffs story is a first: a teenagers addiction from the parents point of view, a realtime chronicle of the shocking descent into substance abuse and the gradual emergence into hope. Before meth, Sheffs son, Nic, was a varsity athlete, honor s...

Narrator: Anthony Heald
Published: 02/26/2008

Comfort Me with Apples
by Ruth Reichl

In Ruth Reichl’s latest book — one that will delight her fans and convert those as yet uninitiated to her charming tales — the author brings to life her adventures in pursuit of good meals and good company. Picking up where Tender...

Narrator: Ruth Reichl
Published: 04/10/2001

My Friend Leonard
by James Frey

New York Times best-selling author James Frey pens the candid memoir of his recovery from drug and alcohol addictions with My Friend Leonard. After a stint in jail, James is rocked by further tragedy. Teetering on the brink of breakdown, he turn...

Narrator: Andy Paris
Published: 11/03/2005

The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Wild
by Cheryl Strayed

Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again. At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought s...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 03/20/2012

Such a Pretty Fat
by Jen Lancaster

A NOTE FROM JEN LANCASTER:"To whom the fat rolls…I'm tired of books where a self-loathing heroine is teased to the point where she starves herself skinny in hopes of a fabulous new life. And I hate the message that women can't poss...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Bright Lights, Big Ass
by Jen Lancaster

Unabridged ? 10 hoursJen Lancaster hates to burst your happy little bubble, but life in the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be. Contrary to what you see on TV and in the movies, most urbanites aren't party-hopping in slinky dresses and strappy...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009
{"id":"1771038","ean":"9781549195273","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Tender Bar: A Memoir","subtitle":"A Memoir","author":"J. R. Moehringer","rating_average":"3.95","narrator":"Adam Grupper","ubr_id":"1771038","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.94","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Adam Grupper","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 16 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}