The Tender Bar: A Memoir, J. R. Moehringer
  • List: $22.98  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Author: J. R. Moehringer

Narrator: Adam Grupper

Unabridged: 16 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 09/05/2017

Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Synopsis

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Recommended

Red Notice A True Story of High Finance, Murder and One Man's Fight for Justice, Bill Browder
Red Notice
by Bill Browder

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 02/03/2015

Medium Raw A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook, Anthony Bourdain
Medium Raw
by Anthony Bourdain

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Anthony Bourdain
Published: 07/06/2010

Tiger Woods, Jeff Benedict
Tiger Woods
by Jeff Benedict

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Roger Casey
Published: 03/27/2018

A Stolen Life A Memoir, Jaycee Dugard
A Stolen Life
by Jaycee Dugard

List: $14.95

Sale: $10.47

Club: $7.47

Narrator: Jaycee Dugard
Published: 07/12/2011

The Magnolia Story, Chip Gaines
The Magnolia Story
by Chip Gaines

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Chip & Joanna Gaines
Published: 10/18/2016

Diana Her True Story in Her Own Words, Andrew Morton
Diana
by Andrew Morton

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Michael Maloney
Published: 06/27/2017

Hard Choices, Hillary Rodham Clinton
Hard Choices
by Hillary Rodham Clinton

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Kathleen Chalfant
Published: 06/10/2014

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, Frederick Douglass
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Do...
by Frederick Douglass

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Stephen Gillikin
Published: 05/17/2020

Too Much and Never Enough How My Family Created the World’s Most Dangerous Man, Mary L. Trump
Too Much and Never Enough
by Mary L. Trump

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mary L. Trump
Published: 07/14/2020
{"id":"1771038","ean":"9781549195273","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Tender Bar: A Memoir","subtitle":"A Memoir","author":"J. R. Moehringer","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Adam Grupper","ubr_id":"1771038","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.94","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Adam Grupper","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 16 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}