The Storm King, Brendan Duffy
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Storm King

Author: Brendan Duffy

Narrator: Jon Lindstrom

Unabridged: 12 hr 58 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/06/2018

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

“Deeply atmospheric, breathlessly suspenseful, with a ticking clock like no other—a terrific thriller.”—Lee Child

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, gripping novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Burying the past only gives it strength—and fury.

Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back.  Fourteen years later, he’s become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father. 
        
Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.
       
This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake’s  sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion. 
     
As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate’s own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming—one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.

Praise for The Storm King

“Brendan Duffy’s second book mingles horror, historical fiction, supernatural suspense and old-fashioned murder mystery, the rare phantasmagoria whose pieces click into a satisfying resolution. . . . This is a gutsy, intricate, evocative piece of mischief, much closer than anyone usually gets to that particular spell cast by Stephen King.”—USA Today

“Duffy follows his debut, House of Echoes, with a stunning literary thriller, which combines accomplished wordsmithing with startling twists.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“An elaborately layered, creepily atmospheric story that blends haunting legends and the psychological terror of a murderer on the hunt. A winning thriller sure to draw readers of Jennifer McMahon, Ruth Ware, and Michael Koryta.”—Booklist (starred review)

Recommended

Piece of My Heart, Mary Higgins Clark
Piece of My Heart
by Mary Higgins Clark

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 11/17/2020

The Sentinel A Jack Reacher Novel, Lee Child
The Sentinel
by Lee Child

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 10/27/2020

Invisible Girl A Novel, Lisa Jewell
Invisible Girl
by Lisa Jewell

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Donna Banya
Published: 10/13/2020

If It Bleeds, Stephen King
If It Bleeds
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 04/28/2020

Deadly Cross, James Patterson
Deadly Cross
by James Patterson

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brad Sanders
Published: 11/23/2020

Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon, Marc Cameron
Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon
by Marc Cameron

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 11/17/2020

A Time for Mercy, John Grisham
A Time for Mercy
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 10/13/2020

Daylight, David Baldacci
Daylight
by David Baldacci

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Published: 11/17/2020

The Searcher A Novel, Tana French
The Searcher
by Tana French

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Roger Clark
Published: 10/06/2020
{"id":"2008094","ean":"9781101913765","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Storm King","subtitle":"","author":"Brendan Duffy","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jon Lindstrom","ubr_id":"2008094","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jon Lindstrom","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}