The Stem Cell Hope: How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives, Alice Park
  • List: $34.98  |  Sale: $24.48
    Club: $17.48
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Stem Cell Hope: How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives

Author: Alice Park

Narrator: Walter Dixon

Unabridged: 10 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Gildan Audio

Published: 05/24/2011

Genre: Medical - Ethics

Synopsis

A landmark book by the senior science writer at Time magazine introduces us to a medical breakthrough that can save our lives. Few people know much about stem cell research beyond the ethical questions raised by using embryos. But in the last decade, stem cell research has made huge advances toward eliminating some of our most intractable diseases. Now this sweeping and accessible book introduces us to this cutting-edge science that will revolutionize medicine and change the way we think about and treat disease. Alice Park takes us from stem cell's controversial beginnings to the recent electrifying promise of being able to create the versatile cells without using embryos at all. She shows us how stem cells give researchers an unprecedented ability to study disease while giving patients the promise of replacing diseased cells with healthy new ones. And she profiles the scientists and leaders-many with their own compelling stories-who have fueled the quest and will continue to shape the field in years to come.

Recommended

Clean Overcoming Addiction and Ending America’s Greatest Tragedy, David Sheff
Clean
by David Sheff

These facts are the foundation of Clean, a myth-shattering look at drug abuse by the author of Beautiful Boy. Based on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience, and medicine, Clean is a leap beyond the traditional approaches to prevention and...

Narrator: Jeff Cummings
Published: 04/02/2013

Rabid A Cultural History of the Worlds Most Diabolical Virus, Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy
Rabid
by Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy

A maddened creature, frothing at the mouth, lunges at an innocent victim-and with a bite, transforms its prey into another raving monster. It's a scenario that underlies our darkest tales of supernatural horror, but its power derives from a very rea...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 07/19/2012

Overdiagnosed Making People Sick in Pursuit of Health, H. Gilbert Welch
Overdiagnosed
by H. Gilbert Welch

Exposing the overdiagnosis of everything from high blood pressure to prostate and breast cancers , Dr. Welch traces the social, ethical, and economic ramifications of some of the worst excesses of American medical practice.

Narrator: M.D. Woloshin
Published: 09/11/2012

Undoctored Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor, William Davis, MD
Undoctored
by William Davis, MD

Conventional health care is no longer working in your favor?but thankfully, Dr. Davis is. In his New York Times bestseller Wheat Belly, Dr. William Davis changed the lives of millions of people by teaching them to remove grains from their diets to ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 05/09/2017

The Checklist Manifesto How to Get Things Right, Atul Gawande
The Checklist Manifesto
by Atul Gawande

The New York Times bestselling author of Better and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks the...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 12/22/2009

The Laws of Medicine, Siddhartha Mukherjee
The Laws of Medicine
by Siddhartha Mukherjee

Essential, required listening for doctors and patients alike: A Pulitzer Prize-winning author and one of the world’s premiere cancer researchers reveals an urgent philosophy on the little-known principles that govern medicine—and how und...

Narrator: Santino Fontana
Published: 10/13/2015

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between, Daniela Lamas
You Can Stop Humming Now
by Daniela Lamas

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being MortalFor readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medici...

Narrator: Daniela Lamas
Published: 03/27/2018

Better A Surgeon's Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
Better
by Atul Gawande

The struggle to perform well is universal: each one of us faces fatigue, limited resources, and imperfect abilities in whatever we do. But nowhere is this drive to do better more important than in medicine, where lives are on the line with every dec...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 04/03/2007

The Nurses A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital, Alexandra Robbins
The Nurses
by Alexandra Robbins

Nursing is more than a career; it's a calling, and one of the most important fascinating, and dangerous professions in the world. As the frontline responders battling traumas, illnesses, and aggression from surprising sources, nurses are remarkable...

Narrator: Alexandra Robbins
Published: 04/19/2016
{"id":"205889","ean":"9781596598348","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Stem Cell Hope: How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives","subtitle":"How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives","author":"Alice Park","rating_average":"4.75","narrator":"Walter Dixon","ubr_id":"205889","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"34.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"20.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Walter Dixon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}