The Six Swans, Andrew Lang
  • List: $1.49  |  Sale: $1.05
    Club: $0.74
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Six Swans

Author: Andrew Lang

Narrator: Michelle Ford

Unabridged: 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Gildan Audio

Published: 04/02/2013

Genre: Fiction - Fairy Tales, Folklore & Mythology

Synopsis

A king who was a fantastic hunter one day got himself lost in the forest. Unable to find his way back home, an old woman appeared and said she would help him get home, provided that he married her daughter. Although her daughter was beautiful and the king agreed, he did not trust his new wife. And so he hid away in a palace in the woods his seven children, six sons and a daughter, from his previous wife. The new queen began to suspect something was amiss, so she bribed the servants to reveal the truth to her. Angered, she casts a spell on the six sons, turning them into swans. The lone daughter was so upset to have lost her brothers and too afraid to return to her father's castle, so she ran way and discovered a small hut. The hut revealed the secret of her brothers' enchantment and the almost impossible key to break the spell. In her extreme devotion to restoring her brothers, she decides to follow the instructions to bring them back, even once she becomes a queen herself. Andrew Lang (1844-1912) was a Scottish writer who collected fairy and folk tales from various cultures and put them together in twelve volumes of tales. He was noted for taking the tales from as many original sources as possible, keeping the fairy tales close to their intended meanings.

Recommended

The Bird and the Sword, Amy Harmon
The Bird and the Sword
by Amy Harmon

Swallow, daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak ...

Narrator: Trina Nishimura
Published: 10/12/2016

The Penelopiad The Myth of Penelope and Odysseus, Margaret Atwood
The Penelopiad
by Margaret Atwood

In Homer’s account in The Odyssey, Penelope - wife of Odysseus and cousin of the beautiful Helen of Troy - is portrayed as the quintessential faithful wife, her story a salutary lesson through the ages. Left alone for twenty years when Odysseu...

Narrator: Laural Merlington
Published: 10/21/2005

The Queen and The Cure: The Bird and the Sword Chronicles, Amy Harmon
The Queen and The Cure: The Bird and the Sword Chronicles
by Amy Harmon

There will be a battle, and you will need to protect your heart. Kjell of Jeru had always known who he was. He'd never envied his brother or wanted to be king. He was the bastard son of the late King Zoltev and a servant girl, and the ignominy of h...

Narrator: Steve West
Published: 07/18/2017

The Gospel of Loki, Joanne M. Harris
The Gospel of Loki
by Joanne M. Harris

“A surprise from the author of Chocolat,” New York Times bestselling author Joanne M. Harris, “this pacy adult fantasy is narrated by Loki, the Norse god of fire and mischief” (Vogue).This novel is a brilliant first-person na...

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 05/05/2015

All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother, Danielle Teller
All the Ever Afters
by Danielle Teller

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother.We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?As rumors about the cruel u...

Narrator: Jane Copland
Published: 05/22/2018

The Red Garden, Alice Hoffman
The Red Garden
by Alice Hoffman

“Hoffman’s characters are always moving back and forth, challenging our perceptions, daring us to judge them.”—New York Times Book ReviewThe Red Garden introduces us to the luminous and haunting world of Blackwell, Massachuse...

Narrator: Nancy Travis
Published: 01/25/2011

The Return of King Lillian, Suzie Plakson
The Return of King Lillian
by Suzie Plakson

THE RETURN OF KING LILLIAN is a new hero’s journey for dreamers of all ages.When Lillian, the one and only heir to the throne, is cast out of her kingdom by malevolent forces, she accidentally wanders into the Forest of Forgetfullness, where s...

Narrator: Suzie Plakson
Published: 07/09/2019

Norse Mythology, Neil Gaiman
Norse Mythology
by Neil Gaiman

Introducing an instant classic--master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attentio...

Narrator: Neil Gaiman
Published: 02/07/2017

A Short History of Myth, Karen Armstrong
A Short History of Myth
by Karen Armstrong

What are myths? How have they evolved? And why do we still so desperately need them?The history of myth is the history of humanity; our stories and beliefs, our curiosity and attempts to understand the world, link us to our ancestors and each other....

Narrator: Sandra Burr
Published: 10/21/2005
{"id":"205308","ean":"9781469025346","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Six Swans","subtitle":"","author":"Andrew Lang","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Michelle Ford","ubr_id":"205308","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"1.49","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"0.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Michelle Ford","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 15 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}