The Secret Sky, Atia Abawi
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Secret Sky

Author: Atia Abawi

Narrator: Ariana Delawari, Assaf Cohen

Unabridged: 7 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 09/02/2014

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Religious - Muslim

Ages: 14 - UP

Synopsis

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

Advanced Praise for THE SECRET SKY:

"[The Secret Sky is] a tale of the indomitable Afghan spirit of hope and love. Among the many novels set in Afghanistan for young people or for adults, The Secret Sky stands alone. Unputdownable. Unforgettable." –Trent Reedy, author of Words in the Dust

“The Secret Sky brilliantly captures the magic and the heartbreak of Afghanistan as only someone rooted in its mystery can....This first novel by a top foreign correspondent has the authenticity of raw journalism and the poetry of a gifted writer. A must read for anyone who wants to understand the contradictions of the Afghan soul.” –Andrea Mitchell, NBC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent and anchor of Andrea Mitchell Reports
 
“A riveting tale written from the heart....This powerful love story will leave you angry at injustice, and awed by courage. It shocks and inspires.” –Lyse Doucet, Chief International Correspondent, BBC

“The Secret Sky is an amazing combination of utterly searing and beautifully romantic. It was like reading The Kite Runner—a gripping story that gave insight to this brutal yet magical culture.” –Daphne Benedis-Grab, author of The Girl in the Wall

Recommended

A Lite Too Bright, Samuel Miller
A Lite Too Bright
by Samuel Miller

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Michael Chamberlain
Published: 05/08/2018

Dear Reader, Mary O'Connell
Dear Reader
by Mary O'Connell

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 05/09/2017

Under a Painted Sky, Stacey Lee
Under a Painted Sky
by Stacey Lee

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Published: 06/30/2015

Heat, Mike Lupica
Heat
by Mike Lupica

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Paolo Andino
Published: 04/11/2006

We Contain Multitudes, Sarah Henstra
We Contain Multitudes
by Sarah Henstra

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Matthew Gouveia
Published: 05/14/2019

Heretics Anonymous, Katie Henry
Heretics Anonymous
by Katie Henry

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 08/07/2018

With the Fire on High, Elizabeth Acevedo
With the Fire on High
by Elizabeth Acevedo

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo
Published: 05/07/2019

What Light, Jay Asher
What Light
by Jay Asher

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Mandy Siegfried
Published: 10/18/2016

Nimona, Noelle Stevenson
Nimona
by Noelle Stevenson

List: $12.99

Sale: $9.10

Club: $6.49

Narrator: David Pittu
Published: 10/04/2016
{"id":"895703","ean":"9780698154834","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Secret Sky","subtitle":"","author":"Atia Abawi","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Ariana Delawari","ubr_id":"895703","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ariana Delawari","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 39 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}