The Scientists: A Family Romance, Marco Roth
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Scientists: A Family Romance

Author: Marco Roth

Narrator: Michael Goldstrom

Unabridged: 6 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 09/18/2012

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

This is a frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir. With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musicianfrom the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce deoxyribonucleic acid, or recite a French poemMarco Roth was able to share his parents New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that hadinfected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways.The Scientistsis a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; its a story of how growing up quickly can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other peoples. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J. R. Ackerley,The Scientistsgrapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Recommended

Over the Top A Raw Journey to Self-Love, Jonathan Van Ness
Over the Top
by Jonathan Van Ness

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Jonathan Van Ness
Published: 09/24/2019

Inside Out A Memoir, Demi Moore
Inside Out
by Demi Moore

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Demi Moore
Published: 09/24/2019

Where Do I Begin? Stories from a Life Lived Out Loud, Elvis Duran
Where Do I Begin?
by Elvis Duran

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Elvis Duran
Published: 10/01/2019

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter, Curtis 50 Cent Jackson
Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter
by Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson
Published: 04/28/2020

Unorthodox The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots, Deborah Feldman
Unorthodox
by Deborah Feldman

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Rachel Botchan
Published: 03/03/2020

In Pieces, Sally Field
In Pieces
by Sally Field

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Sally Field
Published: 09/18/2018

Grateful American A Journey from Self to Service, Gary Sinise
Grateful American
by Gary Sinise

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Gary Sinise
Published: 02/12/2019

Life Will Be the Death of Me . . . and you too!, Chelsea Handler
Life Will Be the Death of Me
by Chelsea Handler

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Chelsea Handler
Published: 04/09/2019
{"id":"165241","ean":"9781470847470","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Scientists: A Family Romance","subtitle":"A Family Romance","author":"Marco Roth","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Michael Goldstrom","ubr_id":"165241","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Michael Goldstrom","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}