The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code, Margalit Fox
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

Author: Margalit Fox

Narrator: Pam Ward

Unabridged: 7 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 09/23/2013

Genre: History - Ancient - Greece

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

Recommended

Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea Why the Greeks Matter, Thomas Cahill
Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea
by Thomas Cahill

In the fourth volume of the acclaimed Hinges of History series, Thomas Cahill brings his characteristic wit and style to a fascinating tour of ancient Greece. The Greeks invented everything from Western warfare to mystical prayer, from logic to stat...

Narrator: Olympia Dukakis
Published: 10/28/2003

The Grand Strategy of Classical Sparta The Persian Challenge, Paul A. Rahe
The Grand Strategy of Classical Sparta
by Paul A. Rahe

More than 2,500 years ago, a confederation of small Greek city-states defeated the invading armies of Persia, the most powerful empire in the world. In this meticulously researched study, historian Paul Rahe argues that Sparta was responsible for th...

Narrator: Bronson Pinchot
Published: 11/24/2015

Mythos, Stephen Fry
Mythos
by Stephen Fry

Here are the thrills, grandeur, and unabashed fun of the Greek myths, stylishly retold by Stephen Fry. The legendary writer, actor, and comedian breathes life into ancient tales, from Pandora's box to Prometheus's fire, and transforms the adventure...

Narrator: Unknown
Published: 08/27/2019

Sailing the Wine Dark Sea Why the Greeks Matter, Thomas Cahill
Sailing the Wine Dark Sea
by Thomas Cahill

In Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea, his fourth volume to explore “the hinges of history,” Thomas Cahill escorts the reader on another entertaining—and historically unassailable—journey through the landmarks of art and bloodshe...

Narrator: John Lee
Published: 07/07/2003

The Lost Empire of Atlantis History's Greatest Mystery Revealed, Gavin Menzies
The Lost Empire of Atlantis
by Gavin Menzies

“Tremendous. This guy has done history like you would not believe.”—Glenn BeckThe secrets of history’s most enduring mystery are finally revealed in The Lost Empire of Atlantis. Through impeccable research and intelligent spe...

Narrator: Gildart Jackson
Published: 10/25/2011

Greek Legacy Understanding the Overwhelming Contributions of the Ancient Greeks, Timothy B. Shutt
Greek Legacy
by Timothy B. Shutt

Named one of the Best 300 Professors by the Princeton Review, Timothy B. Shutt has been repeatedly honored for his exceptional skills as a lecturer. In Greek Legacy, Professor Shutt explores the qualities that set the ancient Greeks apart from other...

Narrator: Timothy Shutt
Published: 03/18/2013

The King of Infinite Space Euclid and His Elements, David Berlinski
The King of Infinite Space
by David Berlinski

Geometry defines the world around us, helping us make sense of everything from architecture to military science to fashion. And for over two thousand years, geometry has been equated with Euclid's Elements, arguably the most influential book in the ...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 04/15/2013

Plato's Greater Hippias, Plato
Plato's Greater Hippias
by Plato

Hippias of Elis travels throughout the Greek world practicing and teaching the art of making beautiful speeches. On a rare visit to Athens, he meets Socrates, who questions him about the nature of his art. Socrates is especially curious about how Hi...

Narrator: Ray Childs
Published: 09/05/2016

Thucydides The Reinvention of History, Donald Kagan
Thucydides
by Donald Kagan

Donald Kagan-Yale's Sterling Professor of Classics and History-delivers a compelling new look at revisionism in Thucydides' classic History of the Peloponnesian War. To determine how accurate and dispassionate the Athenian general really was, Kagan ...

Narrator: Paul Hecht
Published: 03/11/2010
{"id":"1039245","ean":"9781452686219","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","subtitle":"The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","author":"Margalit Fox","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Pam Ward","ubr_id":"1039245","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Pam Ward","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}