The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code, Margalit Fox
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

Author: Margalit Fox

Narrator: Pam Ward

Unabridged: 7 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 09/23/2013

Genre: History - Ancient - Greece

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

Recommended

Killing the SS The Hunt for the Worst War Criminals in History, Bill O'Reilly
Killing the SS
by Bill O'Reilly

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 10/09/2018

Thucydides The Reinvention of History, Donald Kagan
Thucydides
by Donald Kagan

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Paul Hecht
Published: 03/11/2010

Mythos, Stephen Fry
Mythos
by Stephen Fry

List: $25.95

Sale: $18.16

Club: $12.97

Narrator: Stephen Fry
Published: 08/27/2019

The Way I Heard It, Mike Rowe
The Way I Heard It
by Mike Rowe

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mike Rowe
Published: 10/15/2019

The Pioneers The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West, David McCullough
The Pioneers
by David McCullough

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 05/07/2019

Three Women, Lisa Taddeo
Three Women
by Lisa Taddeo

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club Sale: $11.99

Narrator: Tara Lynne Barr
Published: 07/09/2019

Killing Jesus A History, Bill O'Reilly
Killing Jesus
by Bill O'Reilly

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 09/24/2013

The Grand Strategy of Classical Sparta The Persian Challenge, Paul A. Rahe
The Grand Strategy of Classical Spart...
by Paul A. Rahe

List: $22.95

Sale: $16.07

Club: $11.47

Narrator: Bronson Pinchot
Published: 11/24/2015

Spearhead An American Tank Gunner, His Enemy, and a Collision of Lives in World War II, Adam Makos
Spearhead
by Adam Makos

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Johnathan McClain
Published: 02/19/2019
{"id":"1039245","ean":"9781452686219","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","subtitle":"The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","author":"Margalit Fox","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Pam Ward","ubr_id":"1039245","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Pam Ward","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}