The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code, Margalit Fox
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

Author: Margalit Fox

Narrator: Pam Ward

Unabridged: 7 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 09/23/2013

Genre: History - Ancient - Greece

Includes: Bonus Material

Synopsis

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

{"id":"1039245","ean":"9781452686219","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","subtitle":"The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code","author":"Margalit Fox","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Pam Ward","ubr_id":"1039245","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Pam Ward","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 44 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}