The Poet X, Elizabeth Acevedo
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Poet X

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo

Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo

Unabridged: 3 hr 30 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Novels In Verse

Ages: 13 - UP

Synopsis

A 2018 National Book Award Finalist! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation“An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Recommended

Rumble, Ellen Hopkins
Rumble
by Ellen Hopkins

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 12/02/2014

Midnight Sun, Stephenie Meyer
Midnight Sun
by Stephenie Meyer

List: $29.98

Sale: $20.99

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Jake Abel
Published: 08/04/2020

One of Us Is Next The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying, Karen M. McManus
One of Us Is Next
by Karen M. McManus

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Maria Liatis
Published: 01/07/2020

Solo, Kwame Alexander
Solo
by Kwame Alexander

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Kwame Alexander with Randy Preston
Published: 08/01/2017

With the Fire on High, Elizabeth Acevedo
With the Fire on High
by Elizabeth Acevedo

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo
Published: 05/07/2019

Sorcery of Thorns, Margaret Rogerson
Sorcery of Thorns
by Margaret Rogerson

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Ellet
Published: 06/04/2019

To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Jenny Han
To All the Boys I've Loved Before
by Jenny Han

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Ali Ahn
Published: 01/14/2020

Fazbear Frights #1: Into the Pit, Scott Cawthon; Elley Cooper
Fazbear Frights #1: Into the Pit
by Scott Cawthon; Elley Cooper

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Suzanne Freeman
Published: 12/26/2019

Clap When You Land, Elizabeth Acevedo
Clap When You Land
by Elizabeth Acevedo

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo
Published: 05/05/2020
{"id":"2064893","ean":"9780062822482","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Poet X","subtitle":"","author":"Elizabeth Acevedo","rating_average":"4.33","narrator":"Elizabeth Acevedo","ubr_id":"2064893","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Elizabeth Acevedo","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}