• Sale: $20.25

    Club: $13.49

Details

The Oracle Year: A Novel

Author: Charles Soule

Narrator: Charlie Thurston

Unabridged: 11 hr 50 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 04/03/2018

Genre: Fiction - Action & Adventure

Synopsis

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it's come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes listeners on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.

Recommended

The Book of the Dead
by Douglas Preston

An FBI agent, rotting away in a high-security prison for a murder he did not commit...His brilliant, psychotic brother, about to perpetrate a horrific crime...A young woman with an extrodinary past, on th edge of a violent breakdown...An ancient Egy...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 05/30/2006

The Cabinet of Curiosities
by Douglas Preston

In an ancient tunnel underneath New York City a charnel house is discovered.Inside are thirty-six bodies--all murdered and mutilated more than a century ago.While FBI agent Pendergast investigates the old crimes, identical killings start to terroriz...

Narrator: Jonathan Marosz,Rene Auberjonois
Published: 11/20/2012

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
by Michael Chabon

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZEThe beloved, award-winning The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, a Michael Chabon masterwork, is the American epic of two boy geniuses named Joe Kavalier and Sammy Clay. Now with special bonus material by Michael...

Narrator: David Colacci
Published: 06/12/2012

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X
by James Patterson

The greatest superpower of all isn't to be part spider, part man, or to cast magic spells -- the greatest power is the power to create. Daniel has that power. Daniel's secret abilities -- like being able to manipulate objects and animals with his m...

Narrator: Milo Ventimiglia
Published: 07/21/2008

The Navigator
by Clive Cussler

Kurt Austin and the NUMA  Special Assignments Team search for an ancient Middle Eastern relic with secret ties to an American founding father in the #1 bestselling New York Times-bestselling series.  Years ago, an invaluable Phoenicia...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 06/05/2007

Fresh Disasters
by Stuart Woods

From the New York Times bestselling author A chance encounter with a small-time crook sends Stone Barrington straight into the heart of New York's mafia underworld...

Narrator: Tony Roberts
Published: 04/10/2007

Dark Watch
by Clive Cussler

The author of the bestselling NUMA and Dirk Pitt series returns with an all-new novel of adventure and intrigue featuring his unbeatable hero of the high seas—Juan Cabrillo.Cabrillo and his motley crew aboard the clandestine spy ship Oregon ha...

Narrator: Jack Du Brul,Tom Wopat
Published: 11/03/2005

Golden Buddha
by Clive Cussler

In the first novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Oregon Files series, Chairman Juan Cabrillo and his crew are hired by the US government to free Tibet from Chinese control...The Corporation, a group of highly intelligent and skilled mercenari...

Narrator: J. Charles
Published: 05/17/2016

Pop Goes the Weasel
by James Patterson

Detective Alex Cross is in love. But his happiness is threatened by a series of chilling murders in Washington, D.C., murders with a pattern so twisted, it leaves investigators reeling. Cross's ingenious pursuit of the killer produces a suspect-a Br...

Narrator: Michael Kramer,Keith David
Published: 12/01/2005
{"id":"2064836","ean":"9780062799562","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Oracle Year: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Charles Soule","rating_average":"0.00","narrator":"Charlie Thurston","ubr_id":"2064836","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Charlie Thurston","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}