The Lido, Libby Page
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Lido

Author: Libby Page

Narrator: Clare Corbett

Unabridged: 9 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/10/2018

Genre: Fiction - Contemporary Women

Synopsis

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject—and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history—with the help of a charming photographer—she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Recommended

Daddy's Girls, Danielle Steel
Daddy's Girls
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Dan John Miller
Published: 06/09/2020

28 Summers, Elin Hilderbrand
28 Summers
by Elin Hilderbrand

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Erin Bennett
Published: 06/16/2020

Big Summer A Novel, Jennifer Weiner
Big Summer
by Jennifer Weiner

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Danielle Macdonald
Published: 05/05/2020

Neighbors, Danielle Steel
Neighbors
by Danielle Steel

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: James Babson
Published: 01/05/2021

The Midnight Library A Novel, Matt Haig
The Midnight Library
by Matt Haig

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Carey Mulligan
Published: 09/29/2020

The Push A Novel, Ashley Audrain
The Push
by Ashley Audrain

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Marin Ireland
Published: 01/05/2021

This Time Next Year, Sophie Cousens
This Time Next Year
by Sophie Cousens

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Hannah Arterton
Published: 12/01/2020

Hideaway A Novel, Nora Roberts
Hideaway
by Nora Roberts

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 05/26/2020

The Four Winds A Novel, Kristin Hannah
The Four Winds
by Kristin Hannah

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 02/02/2021
{"id":"2235956","ean":"9781508255796","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Lido","subtitle":"","author":"Libby Page","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Clare Corbett","ubr_id":"2235956","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Clare Corbett","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}