The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch, Miles Harvey
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch

Author: Miles Harvey

Narrator: Rengin Altay

Unabridged: 9 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 07/14/2020

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Criminals & Outlaws

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

The "unputdownable" (Dave Eggers, National Book award finalist) story of the most infamous American con man you've never heard of: James Strang, self-proclaimed divine king of earth, heaven, and an island in Lake Michigan, "perfect for fans of The Devil in the White City" (Kirkus)"A masterpiece." -- Nathaniel PhilbrickIn the summer of 1843, James Strang, a charismatic young lawyer and avowed atheist, vanished from a rural town in New York. Months later he reappeared on the Midwestern frontier and converted to a burgeoning religious movement known as Mormonism. In the wake of the murder of the sect's leader, Joseph Smith, Strang unveiled a letter purportedly from the prophet naming him successor, and persuaded hundreds of fellow converts to follow him to an island in Lake Michigan, where he declared himself a divine king. From this stronghold he controlled a fourth of the state of Michigan, establishing a pirate colony where he practiced plural marriage and perpetrated thefts, corruption, and frauds of all kinds. Eventually, having run afoul of powerful enemies, including the American president, Strang was assassinated, an event that was frontpage news across the country.The King of Confidence tells this fascinating but largely forgotten story. Centering his narrative on this charlatan's turbulent twelve years in power, Miles Harvey gets to the root of a timeless American original: the Confidence Man. Full of adventure, bad behavior, and insight into a crucial period of antebellum history, The King of Confidence brings us a compulsively readable account of one of the country's boldest con men and the boisterous era that allowed him to thrive.

Recommended

Mob Boss The Life of Little Al D'arco, the Man Who Brought Down the Mafia, Jerry Capeci
Mob Boss
by Jerry Capeci

List: $23.49

Sale: $16.45

Club: $11.74

Narrator: Michael Prichard
Published: 11/19/2013

Darkest Hour - John Alite Former Mafia Enforcer for John Gotti and the Gambino Crime Family, S.C. Pike
Darkest Hour - John Alite
by S.C. Pike

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Joe Barrett
Published: 12/25/2018

My Bloody Life The Making of a Latin King, Reymundo Sanchez
My Bloody Life
by Reymundo Sanchez

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Rudy Sanda
Published: 02/07/2017

Cartel Wives A True Story of Deadly Decisions, Steadfast Love, and Bringing Down El Chapo, Mia Flores
Cartel Wives
by Mia Flores

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Joy Nash
Published: 04/18/2017

Al Capone His Life, Legacy, and Legend, Deirdre Bair
Al Capone
by Deirdre Bair

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Rob Shapiro
Published: 10/25/2016

Black Mass, Dick Lehr
Black Mass
by Dick Lehr

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: John Rubinstein
Published: 11/09/2012

El Jefe The Stalking of Chapo Guzman, Alan Feuer
El Jefe
by Alan Feuer

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Timothy Andres Pabon
Published: 08/25/2020

American Desperado My Life--From Mafia Soldier to Cocaine Cowboy to Secret Government Asset, Jon Roberts
American Desperado
by Jon Roberts

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 11/01/2011

I Heard You Paint Houses Frank "The Irishman" Sheeran and Closing the Case on Jimmy Hoffa, Charles Brandt
"I Heard You Paint Houses"
by Charles Brandt

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 11/11/2008
{"id":"4181626","ean":"9781478914402","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch","subtitle":"A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch","author":"Miles Harvey","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Rengin Altay","ubr_id":"4181626","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rengin Altay","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}