The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch, Miles Harvey
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch

Author: Miles Harvey

Narrator: Rengin Altay

Unabridged: 9 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 07/14/2020

Genre: True Crime - Hoaxes & Deceptions

Includes: Bonus Material

Synopsis

The "unputdownable" (Dave Eggers, National Book award finalist) story of the most infamous American con man you've never heard of: James Strang, self-proclaimed divine king of earth, heaven, and an island in Lake Michigan, "perfect for fans of The Devil in the White City" (Kirkus)"A masterpiece." -- Nathaniel PhilbrickIn the summer of 1843, James Strang, a charismatic young lawyer and avowed atheist, vanished from a rural town in New York. Months later he reappeared on the Midwestern frontier and converted to a burgeoning religious movement known as Mormonism. In the wake of the murder of the sect's leader, Joseph Smith, Strang unveiled a letter purportedly from the prophet naming him successor, and persuaded hundreds of fellow converts to follow him to an island in Lake Michigan, where he declared himself a divine king. From this stronghold he controlled a fourth of the state of Michigan, establishing a pirate colony where he practiced plural marriage and perpetrated thefts, corruption, and frauds of all kinds. Eventually, having run afoul of powerful enemies, including the American president, Strang was assassinated, an event that was frontpage news across the country.The King of Confidence tells this fascinating but largely forgotten story. Centering his narrative on this charlatan's turbulent twelve years in power, Miles Harvey gets to the root of a timeless American original: the Confidence Man. Full of adventure, bad behavior, and insight into a crucial period of antebellum history, The King of Confidence brings us a compulsively readable account of one of the country's boldest con men and the boisterous era that allowed him to thrive.

Recommended

Pilgrim's Wilderness A True Story of Faith and Madness on the Alaska Frontier, Tom Kizzia
Pilgrim's Wilderness
by Tom Kizzia

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Fred Sanders
Published: 07/16/2013

Playing Dead A Journey Through the World of Death Fraud, Elizabeth Greenwood
Playing Dead
by Elizabeth Greenwood

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Arden Hammersmith
Published: 08/09/2016

American Heiress The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes and Trial of Patty Hearst, Jeffrey Toobin
American Heiress
by Jeffrey Toobin

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 08/02/2016

The Mark Inside A Perfect Swindle, a Cunning Revenge, and a Small History of the Big Con, Amy Reading
The Mark Inside
by Amy Reading

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Richard McGonagle
Published: 03/06/2012

SKYJACK The Hunt for D. B. Cooper, Geoffrey Gray
SKYJACK
by Geoffrey Gray

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Geoffrey Gray
Published: 08/09/2011

True Crime Addict How I Lost Myself in the Mysterious Disappearance of Maura Murray, James Renner
True Crime Addict
by James Renner

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: James Renner
Published: 05/24/2016

The Setup A True Story of Dirty Cops, Soccer Moms, and Reality TV, Pete Crooks
The Setup
by Pete Crooks

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Keith Sellon-Wright
Published: 12/18/2018

Priceless How I Went Undercover to Rescue the World's Stolen Treasures, Robert K. Wittman
Priceless
by Robert K. Wittman

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 06/01/2010

My Friend Anna The True Story of a Fake Heiress, Rachel DeLoache Williams
My Friend Anna
by Rachel DeLoache Williams

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Rachel DeLoache Williams
Published: 07/23/2019
{"id":"4181626","ean":"9781478914402","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch","subtitle":"A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch","author":"Miles Harvey","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Rengin Altay","ubr_id":"4181626","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rengin Altay","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}