The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution A Saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine
  • List: $29.95  |  Sale: $20.97
    Club: $14.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Author: Yuri Slezkine

Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki

Unabridged: 45 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 08/15/2017

Genre: History - Europe - Russia & The Former Soviet Union

Synopsis

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destructionThe House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared. A London Guardian Best Book of the Year for 2017. A New York Times Editor's Choice. A New York Times Notable Book of 2017. A Times Literary Supplement Best Book of 2017.

Recommended

Midnight in Chernobyl The Story of the World's Greatest Nuclear Disaster, Adam Higginbotham
Midnight in Chernobyl
by Adam Higginbotham

Journalist Adam Higginbotham’s definitive, years-in-the-making account of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster—and a powerful investigation into how propaganda, secrecy, and myth have obscured the true story of one of the twentieth...

Narrator: Jacques Roy
Published: 02/12/2019

The Romanov Sisters The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra, Helen Rappaport
The Romanov Sisters
by Helen Rappaport

A New York Times Bestseller for 12 weeks! "Helen Rappaport paints a compelling portrait of the doomed grand duchesses." —People magazine"The public spoke of the sisters in a gentile, superficial manner, but Rappaport captures sections of lette...

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 07/08/2014

Midnight in Siberia A Train Journey into the Heart of Russia, David Greene
Midnight in Siberia
by David Greene

After two and a half years as NPR's Moscow bureau chief, David Greene travels across the country-a 6,000 mile journey by rail, from Moscow to the Pacific port of Vladivostok-to speak with ordinary Russians about how their lives have changed in the p...

Narrator: David Greene
Published: 10/29/2014

Russia A Short History, Abraham Ascher
Russia
by Abraham Ascher

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Abraham Ascher offers a skillful blend of engaging narrative and fresh analysis in this concise introduction to Russian history. Newly updated on the 100th anniversary of the Bolshevik Revolution, it covers the grow...

Narrator: John Pruden
Published: 10/01/2017

The Romanovs 1613-1918, Simon Sebag Montefiore
The Romanovs
by Simon Sebag Montefiore

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world’s greatest empire? And how did they lose it all? &...

Narrator: Simon Russell Beale
Published: 05/03/2016

Lenin's Tomb The Last Days Of The Soviet Empire, David Remnick
Lenin's Tomb
by David Remnick

Winner of the Pulitzer PrizeOne of the Best Books of the Year: The New York Times From the editor of The New Yorker: a riveting account of the collapse of the Soviet Union, which has become the standard book on the subject. Lenin’s Tomb c...

Narrator: Michael Prichard
Published: 12/01/2015

The Russian Revolution A New History, Sean McMeekin
The Russian Revolution
by Sean McMeekin

The definitive, single-volume history of the Russian Revolution, from an award-winning scholarIn The Russian Revolution, acclaimed historian Sean McMeekin traces the events which ended Romanov rule, ushered the Bolsheviks into power, and introduced...

Narrator: Pete Larkin
Published: 07/03/2017

Secondhand Time The Last of the Soviets, Svetlana Alexievich
Secondhand Time
by Svetlana Alexievich

The magnum opus and latest work from Svetlana Alexievich, the 2015 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature—a symphonic oral history about the disintegration of the Soviet Union and the emergence of a new Russia When the Swedish Academy awarded...

Narrator: Bela Shayevich
Published: 05/24/2016

Secret Lives of the Tsars Three Centuries of Autocracy, Debauchery, Betrayal, Murder, and Madness from Romanov Russia, Michael Farquhar
Secret Lives of the Tsars
by Michael Farquhar

“Michael Farquhar doesn’t write about history the way, say, Doris Kearns Goodwin does. He writes about history the way Doris Kearns Goodwin’s smart-ass, reprobate kid brother might. I, for one, prefer it.”—Gene Weingart...

Narrator: Enn Reitel
Published: 07/08/2014
{"id":"1777699","ean":"9781538478400","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution","subtitle":"A Saga of the Russian Revolution","author":"Yuri Slezkine","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Stefan Rudnicki","ubr_id":"1777699","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.47","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Stefan Rudnicki","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 42 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}