The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine
  • List: $29.95  |  Sale: $20.97
    Club: $14.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Author: Yuri Slezkine

Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki

Unabridged: 45 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 08/15/2017

Genre: History - Europe - Russia & The Former Soviet Union

Synopsis

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destructionThe House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared. A London Guardian Best Book of the Year for 2017. A New York Times Editor's Choice. A New York Times Notable Book of 2017. A Times Literary Supplement Best Book of 2017.

Recommended

The Romanovs 1613-1918, Simon Sebag Montefiore
The Romanovs
by Simon Sebag Montefiore

List: $32.50

Sale: $22.75

Club: $16.25

Narrator: Simon Russell Beale
Published: 05/03/2016

Putin's World Russia Against the West and with the Rest, Angela Stent
Putin's World
by Angela Stent

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Kevin Stillwell
Published: 02/26/2019

The Romanov Sisters The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra, Helen Rappaport
The Romanov Sisters
by Helen Rappaport

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 07/08/2014

The Russian Revolution A New History, Sean McMeekin
The Russian Revolution
by Sean McMeekin

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Pete Larkin
Published: 07/03/2017

A Short History of Russia How the World's Largest Country Invented Itself, from the Pagans to Putin, Mark Galeotti
A Short History of Russia
by Mark Galeotti

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Mark Galeotti
Published: 07/07/2020

Russia A Short History, Abraham Ascher
Russia
by Abraham Ascher

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: John Pruden
Published: 10/01/2017

Never Remember Searching for Stalin's Gulags in Putin's Russia, Masha Gessen
Never Remember
by Masha Gessen

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Masha Gessen
Published: 03/05/2019

Lenin's Tomb The Last Days Of The Soviet Empire, David Remnick
Lenin's Tomb
by David Remnick

List: $35.00

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.50

Narrator: Michael Prichard
Published: 12/01/2015

Midnight in Chernobyl The Story of the World's Greatest Nuclear Disaster, Adam Higginbotham
Midnight in Chernobyl
by Adam Higginbotham

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Jacques Roy
Published: 02/12/2019
{"id":"1777699","ean":"9781538478400","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution","subtitle":"A Saga of the Russian Revolution","author":"Yuri Slezkine","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Stefan Rudnicki","ubr_id":"1777699","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.47","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Stefan Rudnicki","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 42 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}