The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs, Ed Asner
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs

Author: Ed Asner, Ed. Weinberger

Narrator: Ed Asner

Unabridged: 8 hr 29 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 10/10/2017

Genre: Political Science - Government

Synopsis

In the tradition of Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding? In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It’s about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.

Recommended

With All Due Respect Defending America with Grit and Grace, Nikki R. Haley
With All Due Respect
by Nikki R. Haley

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Nikki R. Haley
Published: 11/12/2019

The Smear How Shady Political Operatives and Fake News Control What You See, What You Think, and How You Vote, Sharyl Attkisson
The Smear
by Sharyl Attkisson

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Sharyl Attkisson
Published: 06/27/2017

Trump's War His Battle for America, Michael Savage
Trump's War
by Michael Savage

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Holden Still
Published: 03/14/2017

God, Faith, and Reason, Michael Savage
God, Faith, and Reason
by Michael Savage

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Lorenzo De Leon
Published: 11/14/2017

No Is Not Enough Resisting Trumps Shock Politics and Winning the World We Need, Naomi Klein
No Is Not Enough
by Naomi Klein

List: $16.95

Sale: $11.87

Club: $8.47

Narrator: Brit Marling
Published: 06/13/2017

Scorched Earth Restoring the Country after Obama, Michael Savage
Scorched Earth
by Michael Savage

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: James Edward Thomas
Published: 09/13/2016

How Democracies Die, Steven Levitsky
How Democracies Die
by Steven Levitsky

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Fred Sanders
Published: 01/16/2018

Power Thoughts Devotional 365 Daily Inspirations for Winning the Battle of the Mind, Joyce Meyer
Power Thoughts Devotional
by Joyce Meyer

List: $18.98

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Jodi Carlisle
Published: 10/22/2013

Who's Looking Out For You?, Bill O'Reilly
Who's Looking Out For You?
by Bill O'Reilly

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 09/23/2003
{"id":"1908726","ean":"9781508249290","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs","subtitle":"An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs","author":"Ed Asner","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Ed Asner","ubr_id":"1908726","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ed Asner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}