The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Carrie Ryan
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Author: Carrie Ryan

Narrator: Vane Millon

Unabridged: 9 hr 31 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 05/12/2009

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Death & Dying

Synopsis

In Mary's world there are simple truths.
   The Sisterhood always knows best.
   The Guardians will protect and serve.
   The Unconsecrated will never relent.
   And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth.
   But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power. And, when the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness.
   Now, she must choose between her village and her future, between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?

[STAR] "A bleak but gripping story...Poignant and powerful."-Publishers Weekly, Starred

"A postapocalyptic romance of the first order, elegantly written from title to last line."-Scott Westerfeld, author of the Uglies series and Leviathan

"Intelligent, dark, and bewitching, The Forest of Hands and Teeth transitions effortlessly between horror and beauty. Mary's world is one that readers will not soon forget."-Cassandra Clare, bestselling author of City of Bones

"Opening The Forest of Hands and Teeth is like cracking Pandora's box: a blur of darkness and a precious bit of hope pour out. This is a beautifully crafted, page-turning, powerful novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it."-Melissa Marr, bestselling author of Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange

"Dark and sexy and scary. Only one of the Unconsecrated could put this book down."-Justine Larbalestier, author of How to Ditch Your Fairy


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Astonishing Color of After, Emily X.R. Pan
The Astonishing Color of After
by Emily X.R. Pan

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles Al...

Narrator: Stephanie Hsu
Published: 03/20/2018

The Chaos of Standing Still, Jessica Brody
The Chaos of Standing Still
by Jessica Brody

Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Sum...

Narrator: Amy McFadden
Published: 03/06/2018

We Are Okay, Nina LaCour
We Are Okay
by Nina LaCour

Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award — An achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.“Short, poetic and gorgeously written.” —The New York Times Book Review“A beautiful, de...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 02/14/2017

They Both Die at the End, Adam Silvera
They Both Die at the End
by Adam Silvera

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.New York Times bestseller * 4 starre...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 09/05/2017

The Darkest Corners, Kara Thomas
The Darkest Corners
by Kara Thomas

"Gripping from start to finish . . . with twists that left me shocked."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a ps...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 04/19/2016

The Memory Book, Lara Avery
The Memory Book
by Lara Avery

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I'll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I'm writing to remember.Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small ...

Narrator: Casey Holloway
Published: 07/05/2016

Twisted Fate, Norah Olson
Twisted Fate
by Norah Olson

The moment a mysterious boy moves in next door to Sydney and Allyson Tate, both of their lives begin to change in ways that neither of them can ignore.When Allyson meets Graham Copeland, she instantly feels like he's a kindred spirit—shy ...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 01/20/2015

Goodbye Days, Jeff Zentner
Goodbye Days
by Jeff Zentner

“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming,” says Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also A Star, of this novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy. Perfect f...

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 03/07/2017

Neverworld Wake, Marisha Pessl
Neverworld Wake
by Marisha Pessl

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. Who would you choose?From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film comes an absorbing psychological suspense thriller in which fears ...

Narrator: Phoebe Strole
Published: 06/05/2018

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Lisa the Librarian on 2013-08-01 14:43:39

Im a fan of zombies. So many of us are these days. They are what Godzilla was in the 50s and 60s and what slashers were to the 80s. These iconic symbols of contemporary fear are fun.First, the narration. Not great. The reader, while trying to be intense hits a certain boring monotone. But that might be the text. But why did Sister Tabitha get an accent? There are village people who became sisters, they arent foreigners who have conquered. It was a strange choice.Otherwise, Ryans book is not fun. Ryans books are written in a style that is amateurish and mediocre. Had it been written by someone with more skill in the craft of writing, Suzanne Collins and her books of a postapocalyptic dystopia comes to mind, they could have been amazing. So what are the flaws in the writing? First, I question the use of 1st person present tense. Present tense can be difficult to work in as if conveys a feeling of dreaminess and sometimes mental illness. Those qualities do not complement the attempt at grit. Just a stylistic disagreement there. But she has even more problems with the 1stperson narrator. A firstperson narrator cannot think or say something outside their knowledge and experience. That is one of the more difficult aspects of that choice, as opposed to the 3rdperson omniscient, for example. So where does this villager, the protagonist Mary, have the experience to use the word percussion early in the novel? Or to name her dog Argos? In a village that is barely hanging one and that has no books except the scriptures and the genealogy tomes? This type of thoughtlessness reflects the overall poor worldbuilding. And speaking again of poor word choices: Flesh. Overused. There are times when skin would have been just fine, or arm. By the end of the book I felt like creating a drinking game. Every time she uses the word flesh you have to take a drink. Powerful words should be used carefully and sparingly so they dont lose their impact. But Ryan doesnt seem to know how to measure her interactions with the reader.For example, her use of similes is outrageous. Everything is like or as. Yes, these are important techniques that, when used well, offer a great deal to both the intellectual and visceral understanding of a situation. But when overused they call attention to the artifice of the technique and break the suspension of disbelief.She is equally unmeasured in her intensity of description in the unconsecrated zombie attacks. To maintain the momentum of the ongoing crisis, you have to balance, hold back, and alter the sense of danger. Yes, real zombie attacks would probably feel pretty intense every time, but we are talking about the craft of writing and its effect on readers. And her constant hyperintensity simply becomes boring by the end. The protagonist and supporting characters are always deluged or buried or covered with zombies, as they are covered in blood at almost all times, but they arent bitten nearly as much as youd think by the description. Could that be refuted in that the 1stperson narration always feels that kind of intensity when being attacked by zombies? Maybe. But it doesnt work on the level of crafting the narrative and interacting with the reader.Finally, the ending. That is perhaps the most anticlimatic ending I have ever read. The insistance that she will follow [her] dreams and must get to the ocean do not achieve an emotional climax when she does reach her goal. Sure, everybody she loved in life is dead, happiness may not be carrying the day, but to get your first glimpse of the power of the ocean and not forget for a moment after having strived so hard to see it? The ending feels tired. A tired author trying to end an ultimately boring book. I understand there are several derivitive sequel and prequels in the series. I wont be reading any of them.It was a great idea. It could have been a great book. Its a shame it didnt have a greater writer to support it.

{"id":"326451","ean":"9780739385357","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Forest of Hands and Teeth","subtitle":"","author":"Carrie Ryan","rating_average":"3.58","narrator":"Vane Millon","ubr_id":"326451","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Vane Millon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}