The Eight Mountains, Paolo Cognetti
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Eight Mountains

Author: Paolo Cognetti

Narrator: Jacques Roy

Unabridged: 6 hr 26 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 03/20/2018

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives.Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain’s meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life— Bruno’s in the mountains, Pietro’s in cosmopolitan cities across the world—test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. “There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti’s writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story…a true novel by a great writer" (Rolling Stone Italia).

Recommended

The Help, Kathryn Stockett
The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009

Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng
Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club PickThe runaway New York Times bestseller!Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & N...

Narrator: Jennifer Lim
Published: 09/12/2017

The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware
The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD Featured in TheSkimm An Entertainment Weekly “Summer Must List” Pick A New York Post “Summer Must-Read” Pick Included in Summer Book...

Narrator: Imogen Church
Published: 07/19/2016

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

An American Marriage, Tayari Jones
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are rippe...

Narrator: Sean Crisden
Published: 02/06/2018

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
All the Light We Cannot See
by Anthony Doerr

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as ...

Narrator: Zach Appelman
Published: 05/06/2014

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting th...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.Paulo Coelho’s masterpi...

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005
{"id":"2060254","ean":"9781508254928","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Eight Mountains","subtitle":"","author":"Paolo Cognetti","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jacques Roy","ubr_id":"2060254","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jacques Roy","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}