The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog, Patricia B. McConnell
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog

Author: Patricia B. McConnell

Narrator: Ellen Archer

Unabridged: 7 hr 43 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 02/21/2017

Genre: Pets - Dogs - Training

Synopsis

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs—with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth. Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough. Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.

Recommended

Zak George's Guide to a Well-Behaved Dog Proven Solutions to the Most Common Training Problems for All Ages, Breeds, and Mixes, Zak George
Zak George's Guide to a Well-Behaved ...
by Zak George

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Zak George
Published: 07/09/2019

How Dogs Learn, Jon S. Bailey
How Dogs Learn
by Jon S. Bailey

List: $11.99

Sale: $8.40

Club: $5.99

Narrator: Christopher Solimene
Published: 01/31/2017

Love Is All You Need The Revolutionary Bond-Based Approach to Educating Your Dog, Jennifer Arnold
Love Is All You Need
by Jennifer Arnold

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Jennifer Arnold
Published: 08/23/2016

Trident K9 Warriors My Tale From the Training Ground to the Battlefield with Elite Navy SEAL Canines, Mike Ritland
Trident K9 Warriors
by Mike Ritland

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Jeff Gurner
Published: 04/15/2013

Lucky Dog Lessons Train Your Dog in 7 Days, Brandon McMillan
Lucky Dog Lessons
by Brandon McMillan

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Roger Wayne
Published: 10/04/2016

Be the Pack Leader Use Cesar's Way to Transform Your Dog...And Your Life, Cesar Millan
Be the Pack Leader
by Cesar Millan

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: John H. Mayer
Published: 10/02/2007

Inside of a Dog What Dogs See, Smell, and Know, Alexandra Horowitz
Inside of a Dog
by Alexandra Horowitz

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Karen White
Published: 03/22/2016

Through a Dog's Eyes, Jennifer Arnold
Through a Dog's Eyes
by Jennifer Arnold

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Jennifer Arnold
Published: 08/10/2010

How to Raise the Perfect Dog Through Puppyhood and Beyond, Cesar Millan
How to Raise the Perfect Dog
by Cesar Millan

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Cesar Millan
Published: 10/06/2009
{"id":"1556452","ean":"9781508234166","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog","subtitle":"A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog","author":"Patricia B. McConnell","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Ellen Archer","ubr_id":"1556452","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ellen Archer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 42 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}