The Dirt Cure: Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil, Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD
  • List: $19.95  |  Sale: $13.97
    Club: $9.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Dirt Cure: Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil

Author: Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD

Narrator: Marguerite Gavin

Unabridged: 11 hr 22 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 01/26/2016

Genre: Health & Fitness

Synopsis

In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Hyman, and Andrew Weil, pioneering integrative pediatric neurologist Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD, reveals the shocking contents of childrens food, how its seriously harming their bodies and brains, and what we can do about it. And she presents the first nutritional plan for getting and keeping children healthya plan that any family can follow. Alarming new studies show the dramatic rise of chronic disease in children, from allergies and ADHD to mental illnesses and obesity. A traditionally trained pediatric neurologist and a parent herself, Dr. Maya encountered the limits of conventional medicine when her son suffered a severe episode of asthma on his first birthday and began a backward slide in his development. Treatments failed to reverse his condition; so Dr. Maya embarked on a scientific investigation, discovering that food was at the root of her sons illness, affecting his digestive system, immune system, and brain. The solution was shockingly simple: heal the food, heal the gut, heal the brainand you heal the child. Recent changes in growing and processing food are harming childrens intestinal microbiomes, immune systems, and brains, contributing to chronic disease. Dr. Mayas plan started with the soil, using fresh foods and nature to heal her son from the inside out and the outside in. Since then, she has successfully helped chronically ill patients from around the world. Revealing the profound connections between food, nature, and childrens health, Dr. Maya explains how food is constantly changing childrens bodies, brains, and even genesfor better or for worse. She also shares success stories from her practice and tips as a working mother of three on stocking healing foods (from veggies to chocolate), reading labels, and getting even picky eaters into the new menu. This paradigm-shifting book empowers you to transform your childs health through food and to ensure the long-term well-being of your children and the entire family.

Recommended

The Omnivore's Dilemma A Natural History of Four Meals, Michael Pollan
The Omnivore's Dilemma
by Michael Pollan

One of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the YearWinner of the James Beard AwardAuthor of #1 New York Times Bestsellers In Defense of Food and Food RulesWhat should we have for dinne...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 04/11/2006

Genius Foods Become Smarter, Happier, and More Productive While Protecting Your Brain for Life, Max Lugavere
Genius Foods
by Max Lugavere

Discover the critical link between your brain and the food you eat, change the way you think about how your brain ages, and achieve optimal brain performance with this powerful new guide from media personality and leading voice in health Max Lugave...

Narrator: Max Lugavere
Published: 03/20/2018

How Not to Die Discover the Foods Scientifically Proven to Prevent and Reverse Disease, Michael Greger, M.D., MD
How Not to Die
by Michael Greger, M.D., MD

From the physician behind the wildly popular website NutritionFacts.org, How Not to Die reveals the groundbreaking scientific evidence behind the only diet that can prevent and reverse many of the causes of disease-related death.The vast majority of...

Narrator: Michael Greger, M.D., MD
Published: 12/08/2015

The Bulletproof Diet Lose up to a Pound a Day, Reclaim Your Energy and Focus, and Upgrade Your Life, Dave Asprey
The Bulletproof Diet
by Dave Asprey

In his mid-twenties, Dave Asprey was a successful Silicon Valley multimillionaire. He also weighed 300 pounds, despite the fact that he was doing what doctors recommended: eating 1,800 calories a day and working out 90 minutes a day, six times a wee...

Narrator: P. J. Ochlan
Published: 12/02/2014

The Case Against Sugar, Gary Taubes
The Case Against Sugar
by Gary Taubes

From the best-selling author of Why We Get Fat, a groundbreaking, eye-opening exposé that makes the convincing case that sugar is the tobacco of the new millennium: backed by powerful lobbies, entrenched in our lives, and making us very sick....

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 12/27/2016

Why We Sleep Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams, Matthew Walker
Why We Sleep
by Matthew Walker

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert—Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley’s Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab—reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative po...

Narrator: Steve West
Published: 10/03/2017

The Keto Reset Diet Reboot Your Metabolism in 21 Days and Burn Fat Forever, Mark Sisson
The Keto Reset Diet
by Mark Sisson

Mark Sisson—author of the mega-bestseller The Primal Blueprint—unveils his groundbreaking ketogenic diet plan that resets your metabolism in 21 days so you can burn fat forever.Mounting scientific research is confirming that eating ...

Narrator: Brad Kearns
Published: 10/03/2017

Head Strong The Bulletproof Plan to Activate Untapped Brain Energy to Work Smarter and Think Faster-in Just Two Weeks, Dave Asprey
Head Strong
by Dave Asprey

From the creator of Bulletproof Coffee and author of the bestselling The Bulletproof Diet comes a revolutionary plan to upgrade your brainpower—in two weeks or less.For the last decade, Silicon Valley entrepreneur Dave Asprey has worked with ...

Narrator: Rob Shapiro
Published: 03/21/2017

The TB12 Method How to Achieve a Lifetime of Sustained Peak Performance, Tom Brady
The TB12 Method
by Tom Brady

The first book by New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady—the five-time Super Bowl champion who is still reaching unimaginable heights of excellence at forty years old—a deeply practical “athlete’s bible” that reveal...

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 09/19/2017
{"id":"1231925","ean":"9781504683890","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Dirt Cure: Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil","subtitle":"Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil","author":"Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Marguerite Gavin","ubr_id":"1231925","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Marguerite Gavin","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}