• Regular: $14.99

    Sale: $10.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $7.49

Details

The Day the President Was Shot: The Secret Service, the FBI, a Would-Be Killer, and the Attempted Assassination of Ronald Reagan

Author: Bill O'Reilly

Narrator: Robert Petkoff

Unabridged: 3 hr 1 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/21/2016

Genre: Children & Young Adults Nonfiction - History - United States - 20th Century

Synopsis

The year was 1981. Just two months into his presidency, Ronald Reagan was shot after leaving a speaking engagement in Washington, D. C. The quick action of the Secret Service and medical professionals saved the president's life. Mere days after his near-death experience, Reagan's personal strength propelled him back into his presidential duties. Adapted from Bill O'Reilly's historical thriller Killing Reagan, with characteristically gripping storytelling, this story explores the events of the day Reagan was shot. From the scene of the shooting and the dramatic action of the Secret Service, to the FBI's interrogation of the shooter, the life-saving measures of the medical professionals and the president's extraordinary recovery, this is a page-turning account of an attempted assassination and its aftermath. The introduction to this audiobook was read by Bill O'Reilly.

Recommended

Children of the Dust Bowl
by Jerry Stanley

This is the compelling story of the Okie migration to California and of the construction and life of a remarkable school at a farm workers camp. This memorable book provides a glimpse of a neglected period of American history and tells a story of pr...

Narrator: Fred Sullivan
Published: 08/01/2013

Most Dangerous
by Steve Sheinkin

Steve Sheinkin is the award-winning author of fast-paced, cinematic histories for young readers. His most recent, The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights, was included on the National Book Award Long List and received t...

Narrator: Ray Porter
Published: 09/22/2015

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
by Daniel James Brown

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation.  For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boy...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 09/08/2015

Flesh and Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire and Its Legacy
by Albert Marrin

ALBERT MARRIN is the author of numerous highly regarded nonfiction books for young readers, including Years of Dust; The Great Adventure: Theodore Roosevelt and the Rise of Modern America; and Sitting Bull and His World. His many honors include the ...

Narrator: John H. Mayer
Published: 08/14/2012

The Port Chicago 50
by Steve Sheinkin

Steve Sheinkin is the award-winning author of several exciting books on American history for young adults. His 2012 title BOMB: THE RACE TO BUILD AND STEAL THE WORLD'S MOST DANGEROUS WEAPON, was awarded a Newbery Honor, won the Sibert Medal, the YAL...

Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Published: 01/21/2014

Revolution
by Deborah Wiles

Deborah Wiles is the author of the picture book FREEDOM SUMMER and three novels: LOVE, RUBY LAVENDER; THE AURORA COUNTY ALL-STARS; and EACH LITTLE BIRD THAT SINGS, a National Book Award finalist. She has vivid memories of ducking and covering under ...

Narrator: Robin Miles
Published: 07/08/2014

The War to End All Wars
by Russell Freedman

Nonfiction master Russell Freedman illuminates for young readers the complex and rarely discussed subject of World War I. The tangled relationships and alliances of many nations, the introduction of modern weaponry, and top-level military decisions ...

Narrator: Zach McLarty
Published: 07/27/2010

Blizzard of Glass
by Sally M. Walker

Sally M. Walker is the author of Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland; Fossil Fish Found Alive; and Secrets of a Civil War Submarine, which was awarded a Sibert Medal. She first learned about the Halifax Harbour explosion...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 08/14/2012

We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March
by Cynthia Y. Levinson

By May 1963, African Americans in Birmingham, Alabama, had had enough of segregation and police brutality. But with their lives and jobs at stake, most adults were hesitant to protest the city’s racist culture. Instead, children and teenagers&...

Narrator: Ervin Ross
Published: 08/28/2012
{"id":"1349855","ean":"9781427273574","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Day the President Was Shot: The Secret Service, the FBI, a Would-Be Killer, and the Attempted Assassination of Ronald Reagan","subtitle":"The Secret Service, the FBI, a Would-Be Killer, and the Attempted Assassination of Ronald Reagan","author":"Bill O'Reilly","rating_average":"0.00","narrator":"Robert Petkoff","ubr_id":"1349855","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.20","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Petkoff","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 1 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}