The Cruel Stars, John Birmingham
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Cruel Stars

Author: John Birmingham

Narrator: Morgan Hallett

Unabridged: 13 hr 55 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 08/20/2019

Genre: Fiction - Science Fiction

Synopsis

With a ruthless sect of humanity intent on wiping out their species, five intrepid heroes must think like their enemies in this epic sci-fi adventure for fans of The Expanse and Battlestar Galactica. The galaxy was once terrorized by the Sturm, a group of "species purists" intent on destroying any human with genetic or cybernetic enhancements. Fashioning themselves as the one true "Human Republic," the Sturm cut a bloody swath across the stars, killing billions before finally being defeated and driven into the far reaches of Dark Space. Centuries of peace bred complacency. Everyone believed the Sturm had died out in the Dark. They were wrong. The enemy has returned and, with a brutal and decisive attack, knocks out almost all of humanity's defenses. Now on the brink of annihilation, humankind's only hope is a few brave souls who survived the initial attack: Commander Lucinda Hardy, thrust into uncertain command of the Royal Armadalen Navy's only surviving warship. Booker3, a soldier of Earth, sentenced to die for treason, whose time on death row is cut short when the Sturm attack his prison compound. Princess Alessia, a young royal of the Montanblanc Corporation, forced to flee when her home planet is overrun and her entire family executed. Sephina L'trel, the leader of an outlaw band who must call on all of her criminal skills to resist the invasion. And, finally, Admiral Frazer McLennan, the infamous hero of the first war with the Sturm hundreds of years ago, who hopes to rout his old foes once and for all-or die trying. These five flawed, reluctant heroes must band together to prevail against a relentless enemy and near-impossible odds. For if they fail, the future itself is doomed.

Recommended

The Man in the High Castle, Philip K. Dick
The Man in the High Castle
by Philip K. Dick

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Jeff Cummings
Published: 06/02/2015

The Andromeda Strain, Michael Crichton
The Andromeda Strain
by Michael Crichton

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: David Morse
Published: 05/26/2015

Pawn Of Prophecy, David Eddings
Pawn Of Prophecy
by David Eddings

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Cameron Beierle
Published: 07/15/2003

The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood
The Blind Assassin
by Margaret Atwood

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Margot Dionne
Published: 09/05/2000

The Desert Spear, Peter Brett
The Desert Spear
by Peter Brett

List: $39.99

Sale: $28.00

Club: $19.99

Narrator: Pete Bradbury
Published: 06/08/2010

Sphere, Michael Crichton
Sphere
by Michael Crichton

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 11/03/2015

Hounded The Iron Druid Chronicles, Kevin Hearne
Hounded
by Kevin Hearne

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 05/03/2011

Alien: Covenant, Alan Dean Foster
Alien: Covenant
by Alan Dean Foster

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Tom Taylorson
Published: 05/23/2017

Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton
Jurassic Park
by Michael Crichton

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 04/28/2015
{"id":"3328962","ean":"9781980047070","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Cruel Stars","subtitle":"","author":"John Birmingham","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Morgan Hallett","ubr_id":"3328962","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Morgan Hallett","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hours 55 minutes","abr_length":"Abridged: "}