The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands, Jon Billman
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands

Author: Jon Billman

Narrator: Stephen Graybill

Unabridged: 11 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 07/07/2020

Genre: True Crime - Abductions, Kidnappings & Missing Persons

Synopsis

For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman's fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them.These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace incidences, which happen a lot more (and a lot closer to your backyard) than almost anyone thinks. These are the missing whose situations are the hardest on loved ones left behind. The cases that are an embarrassment for park superintendents, rangers and law enforcement charged with Search & Rescue. The ones that baffle the volunteers who comb the mountains, woods and badlands. The stories that should give you pause every time you venture outdoors.Through Jacob Gray's disappearance in Olympic National Park, and his father Randy Gray who left his life to search for him, we will learn about what happens when someone goes missing. Braided around the core will be the stories of the characters who fill the vacuum created by a vanished human being. We'll meet eccentric bloodhound-handler Duff and R.C., his flagship purebred, who began trailing with the family dog after his brother vanished in the San Gabriel Mountains. And there's Michael Neiger North America's foremost backcountry Search & Rescue expert and self-described "bushman" obsessed with missing persons. And top researcher of persons missing on public wildlands Ex-San Jose, California detective David Paulides who is also one of the world's foremost Bigfoot researchers. It's a tricky thing to write about missing persons because the story is the absence of someone. A void. The person at the heart of the story is thinner than a smoke ring, invisible as someone else's memory. The bones you dig up are most often metaphorical. While much of the book will embrace memory and faulty memory -- history -- The Cold Vanish is at its core a story of now and tomorrow. Someone will vanish in the wild tomorrow. These are the people who will go looking.

Recommended

The Girl on the Velvet Swing Sex, Murder, and Madness at the Dawn of the Twentieth Century, Simon Baatz
The Girl on the Velvet Swing
by Simon Baatz

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Christine Lakin
Published: 01/16/2018

Practice to Deceive, Ann Rule
Practice to Deceive
by Ann Rule

List: $23.95

Sale: $16.77

Club: $11.97

Narrator: Anne Twomey
Published: 10/08/2013

Fatal Vision, Joe McGinniss
Fatal Vision
by Joe McGinniss

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Fred Sanders,Christopher Reeve
Published: 03/20/2018

The Family Next Door The Heartbreaking Imprisonment of the 13 Turpin Siblings and Their Extraordinary Rescue, John Glatt
The Family Next Door
by John Glatt

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 08/06/2019

The Lost Girls The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina Dejesus, John Glatt
The Lost Girls
by John Glatt

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published: 05/01/2015

American Sherlock Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI, Kate Winkler Dawson
American Sherlock
by Kate Winkler Dawson

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Kate Winkler Dawson
Published: 02/11/2020

Ghost of the Innocent Man A True Story of Trial and Redemption, Benjamin Rachlin
Ghost of the Innocent Man
by Benjamin Rachlin

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Ron Butler
Published: 08/15/2017

The Suspect An Olympic Bombing, the FBI, the Media, and Richard Jewell, the Man Caught in the Middle, Kent Alexander
The Suspect
by Kent Alexander

List: $22.95

Sale: $16.07

Club: $11.47

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 11/12/2019

An Unexplained Death The True Story of a Body at the Belvedere, Mikita Brottman
An Unexplained Death
by Mikita Brottman

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Mikita Brottman
Published: 11/06/2018
{"id":"4145649","ean":"9781549142727","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands","subtitle":"Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands","author":"Jon Billman","rating_average":"4.2","narrator":"Stephen Graybill","ubr_id":"4145649","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Stephen Graybill","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}