The Cloud Chamber, Joyce Maynard
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Cloud Chamber

Author: Joyce Maynard

Narrator: Joel Johnstone

Unabridged: 5 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/14/2005

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Suicide

Synopsis

The minute the school bus carrying Nate Chance and his little sister, Junie, pulls up in front of his family’s farmhouse, Nate can tell something’s terribly wrong: Somehow his father has been wounded by a gunshot. Nate sees him stagger across the yard, then watches as the police take him away.
Then, nothing. Nobody in the family will say what happened, or where Nate’s dad has gone. At school, his best friend, Larry, won’t talk to him, and kids whisper that his dad’s a “psycho.” Back home, police keep showing up with questions for his mom; and then there’s Junie, worried that Mom will sell her beloved pony and counting on her big brother to figure out a way to reach their dad.
But the science fair is coming up, and Nate has a plan. If he can just win first prize with his amazing cloud chamber project, he’ll get to go to the state finals, near the hospital where his dad’s been locked away. And since it was his dad who taught him to love science–and the stars–it seems like maybe the magic of the cloud chamber can bring the family together again, too.
Too bad he has to work on it with the weirdest, most unpopular girl in school, Naomi, with her goofy hair and nutty idea that the two of them should be best friends. The craziest part is, she just might be right.


From the Compact Disc edition.

Recommended

Hold Still, Nina LaCour
Hold Still
by Nina LaCour

The award-winning first novel from the bestselling author of We Are Okay. For fans of 13 Reasons Why.In the wake of her best friend Ingrid's suicide, Caitlin is left alone, struggling to find hope and answers. When she finds the journal Ingrid left ...

Narrator: Emma Galvin
Published: 10/20/2009

My Heart and Other Black Holes, Jasmine Warga
My Heart and Other Black Holes
by Jasmine Warga

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher.Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmat...

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 02/10/2015

I Was Here, Gayle Forman
I Was Here
by Gayle Forman

Cody and Meg were inseparable.Two peas in a pod.Until . . . they weren’t anymore. When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 01/27/2015

The Last Time We Say Goodbye, Cynthia Hand
The Last Time We Say Goodbye
by Cynthia Hand

In the tradition of Thirteen Reasons Why and All the Bright Places, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death.From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a stunning, h...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 02/10/2015

The Gatekeepers, Jen Lancaster
The Gatekeepers
by Jen Lancaster

"How could we know that forever could end at seventeen?" Anyone passing through North Shore, Illinois, would think it was the most picture-perfect place ever, with all the lakefront mansions and manicured hedges and iron gates. No one t...

Narrator: Arielle Delisle
Published: 10/10/2017

This Song Will Save Your Life, Leila Sales
This Song Will Save Your Life
by Leila Sales

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stu...

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 05/27/2014

In 27 Days, Alison Gervais
In 27 Days
by Alison Gervais

Hadley Jamison is shocked when she hears that her classmate, Archer Morales, has committed suicide. She didn’t know the quiet, reserved guy very well, but that doesn’t stop her from feeling there was something she could have done to...

Narrator: Hope Hoffman
Published: 07/25/2017

Just a Normal Tuesday, Kim Turrisi
Just a Normal Tuesday
by Kim Turrisi

What begins as just a normal Tuesday becomes a day that will shatter sixteen-year-old Kai's life forever. All it takes is a letter, tucked into a pile of their family's mail. It's from Kai's older sister, Jen, who lives nearby. And it begins, ?If y...

Narrator: Sabryn Rock
Published: 10/03/2017

Here We Are Now, Jasmine Warga
Here We Are Now
by Jasmine Warga

A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and Fangirl.  Taliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jor...

Narrator: Soneela Nankani
Published: 11/07/2017
{"id":"317368","ean":"9780307245601","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Cloud Chamber","subtitle":"","author":"Joyce Maynard","rating_average":"4.22","narrator":"Joel Johnstone","ubr_id":"317368","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Joel Johnstone","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}