The Cartel, Don Winslow
  • List: $29.95  |  Sale: $20.97
    Club: $14.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Cartel

Author: Don Winslow

Narrator: Ray Porter

Unabridged: 23 hr 24 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 06/23/2015

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers - Crime

Synopsis

From the internationally bestselling author of the acclaimed novel The Power of the Dog comes The Cartel, a gripping, ripped from the headlines story of power, corruption, revenge, and justice spanning the past decade of the Mexican-American drug wars. Its 2004. DEA agent Art Keller has been fighting the war on drugs for thirty years in a blood feud against Adn Barrera, the head of El Federacin, the worlds most powerful cartel, and the man who brutally murdered Kellers partner. Finally putting Barrera away cost Keller dearlythe woman he loves, the beliefs he cherishes, the life he wants to lead. Then Barrera gets out, determined to rebuild the empire that Keller shattered. Unwilling to live in a world with Barrera in it, Keller goes on a ten-year odyssey to take him down. His obsession with justiceor is it revenge?becomes a ruthless struggle that stretches from the cities, mountains, and deserts of Mexico to Washingtons corridors of power to the streets of Berlin and Barcelona. Keller fights his personal battle against the devastated backdrop of Mexicos drug war, a conflict of unprecedented scale and viciousness, as cartels vie for power and he comes to the final reckoning with Barreraand himselfthat he always knew must happen. The Cartel is a true-to-life story of honor and sacrifice, as one man tries to face down the devil without losing his soul. It is the story of the war on drugs and the menand womenwho wage it.

Recommended

Detective Cross, James Patterson
Detective Cross
by James Patterson

The suspect is your patient, Dr. Cross. An anonymous caller has promised to set off deadly bombs in Washington, DC. A cruel hoax or the real deal? By the time Alex Cross and his wife, Bree Stone, uncover the chilling truth, it may already be too la...

Narrator: Ty Jones
Published: 05/02/2017

Texas Ranger, James Patterson
Texas Ranger
by James Patterson

Instant #1 New York Times bestsellerIn James Patterson's white-hot Western thriller, a Texas Ranger fights for his life, his freedom, and the town he loves as he investigates his ex-wife's murder. Across the ranchlands and cities of his home stat...

Narrator: Christopher Ryan Grant
Published: 08/13/2018

The Couple Next Door, Shari Lapena
The Couple Next Door
by Shari Lapena

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERShari Lapena’s new thriller, AN UNWANTED GUEST, is available now!“The twists come as fast [as] you can turn the pages.” —People“Provocative and shocking.” —...

Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Published: 08/23/2016

Dark Sacred Night, Michael Connelly
Dark Sacred Night
by Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch teams up with LAPD detective RenA©e Ballard to solve the murder of a young girl in the new thriller from #1 New York Timesbestselling author Michael Connelly.Detective RenA©e Ballard is working the night beat -- known in LAPD ...

Narrator: Titus Welliver
Published: 10/30/2018

Juror #3, James Patterson
Juror #3
by James Patterson

Instant #1 New York Times bestseller!A young attorney tries her first case . . . and it's Murder One in a legal thriller from the world's #1 bestselling writer.Ruby Bozarth, a newcomer to Rosedale, Mississippi, is also fresh to the Mississippi Bar-...

Narrator: Megan Tusing
Published: 09/10/2018

Dark Sacred Night, Michael Connelly
Dark Sacred Night
by Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch teams up with LAPD detective RenA©e Ballard to solve the murder of a young girl in the new thriller from #1 New York Timesbestselling author Michael Connelly.Detective RenA©e Ballard is working the night beat -- known in LAPD ...

Narrator: Titus Welliver
Published: 10/30/2018

The Boy A Novel, Tami Hoag
The Boy
by Tami Hoag

An unfathomable loss or an unthinkable crime? #1 New York Times bestselling author Tami Hoag keeps you guessing in her most harrowing thriller yet.A panic-stricken woman runs in the dead of night, battered and bloodied, desperate to find help…...

Narrator: Hillary Huber
Published: 12/31/2018

The Hunting Party A Novel, Lucy Foley
The Hunting Party
by Lucy Foley

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a ...

Narrator: Gary Furlong
Published: 02/12/2019

Magpie Murders, Anthony Horowitz
Magpie Murders
by Anthony Horowitz

"Magpie Murders is a double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don’t often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." --Janet Maslin, The New York TimesA New York Times Bestseller | #1 Indie Next Pick | NPR Best Book of 2017 | Amazon...

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 06/06/2017

About the Author

American author, Don Winslow, has lived in many places around the world, but his favorite place, and now residence, is California. He was born in New York City, and did go back there as well during his young adult years before he became a full time writer. He actually grew up in a quiet town in Rhode Island, and credits his parents with his ambition to become a writer.......his librarian mother, who encouraged reading, and his Navy dad, who loved to tell stories.

In New York City, Winslow was a manager of Times Square theaters, and also a private investigator. He possessed two higher education degrees, one in African Studies and one in Military History. He even led safaris in Kenya and hiking trips in China. With all those varied jobs, the writing began easily for Author Winslow.

He has written: A Cool Breeze on the Underground, The Death and Life of Bobby Z, which was the book that was so successful it allowed him to be a full time writer. It and his book Savages were both adapted for film. His most recent novel, The Force, was licensed to 20th Century Fox and was due to be released in March, James Mangold, Director.

Winslow still lives in California with his wife, Jean. They have a son, Thomas.

{"id":"972037","ean":"9781504610766","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Cartel","subtitle":"","author":"Don Winslow","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Ray Porter","ubr_id":"972037","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.47","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ray Porter","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 22 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}