The Brass Wall, David Kocieniewski
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Brass Wall

Author: David Kocieniewski

Narrator: Greg Salata

Abridged: 5 hr 41 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 10/01/2003

Genre: True Crime - Organized Crime

Synopsis

In the tradition of Serpico and Prince of the City, a brilliantly reported true story of power and betrayal in the NYPD set against the worlds of the Mafia and big-city politicsIn 1993, Vincent Armanti, Undercover Detective #4126 agreed to infiltrate a branch of the Luchese family responsible for the homicide of a beloved fireman. Already a legend for successfully posing as a hit man and arms smuggler, Armanti transformed himself into Vinnie "Blue Eyes" Penisi—a veteran hood with an icy stare. Yet, once under cover, Armanti found that the wise guys he was chasing had access to classified police information. Stakes accelerated when the informant was revealed to be the son of the commander of NYPD's Internal Affairs Bureau. Again and again, IAB's detectives compromised Armanti, to protect the powerful man's son, but even the Police Commissioner ignored the situation. But, like the fireman who takes an oath to serve, Armanti stayed on the job, even when it was clear his life was endangered.David Kocieniewski, former New York Times Police Bureau Chief, reveals every moment of Armanti's effort to break through the wall enforced by the cops' top brass. Here, with all its compromises, is the city of New York. Here, in all his humanity, is an unforgettable hero, battling for his honor and survival. Here is a remarkable story that ranks with the greatest police classics.

Recommended

Under and Alone The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America's Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang, William Queen
Under and Alone
by William Queen

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Don Leslie
Published: 12/05/2006

Hunting El Chapo The Inside Story of the American Lawman Who Captured the World's Most-Wanted Drug Lord, Andrew Hogan
Hunting El Chapo
by Andrew Hogan

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Robert Fass
Published: 04/03/2018

Gotti's Rules The Story of John Alite, Junior Gotti, and the Demise of the American Mafia, George Anastasia
Gotti's Rules
by George Anastasia

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Joe Barrett
Published: 01/27/2015

Whitey Bulger America's Most Wanted Gangster and the Manhunt That Brought Him to Justice, Kevin Cullen
Whitey Bulger
by Kevin Cullen

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: James Colby
Published: 01/16/2014

True Crimes and Misdemeanors The Investigation of Donald Trump, Jeffrey Toobin
True Crimes and Misdemeanors
by Jeffrey Toobin

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Rob Shapiro
Published: 08/04/2020

Blow How a Small-Town Boy Made $100 Million with the Medelln Cocaine Cartel and Lost It All, Bruce Porter
Blow
by Bruce Porter

List: $22.95

Sale: $16.07

Club: $11.47

Narrator: Stephen Bowlby
Published: 10/10/2017

American Kingpin The Epic Hunt for the Criminal Mastermind Behind the Silk Road, Nick Bilton
American Kingpin
by Nick Bilton

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Will Damron
Published: 05/02/2017

Sins of Fathers A Spectacular Break from a Dark Criminal Past, Michael Emmett
Sins of Fathers
by Michael Emmett

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jonathan Aitken
Published: 01/05/2021

The Westies Inside New York's Irish Mob, T. J. English
The Westies
by T. J. English

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: James Anderson Foster
Published: 06/20/2017
{"id":"243557","ean":"9781593973469","abr":"Abridged","title":"The Brass Wall","subtitle":"","author":"David Kocieniewski","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Greg Salata","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"243557","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"19.99","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"11.99","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Greg Salata","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 6 hr"}