The Boy Who Could See Demons, Carolyn Jess-Cooke
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Boy Who Could See Demons

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Narrator: Bruce Mann, Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Unabridged: 10 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/13/2013

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

Bestselling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul—perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case—one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible.
 
Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother’s latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary “friend” Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will.
 
But Anya has seen this kind of behavior before—with her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex’s condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered.
 
A rich and deeply moving page-turner, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the reader changed.

Praise for The Boy Who Could See Demons
 
“A well written, engaging read filled with compassion for those suffering the whims of an untamed mental illness . . . A poignant read, The Boy Who Could See Demons is a suspenseful novel that probes the issues surrounding the devastating effects of mental illness. The author delves into the psychological issues of schizophrenia and mental disorders with such dexterity it leaves the reader stirred and affected, questioning throughout the story what is real and what is not. . . . As the conclusion draws near, the story takes unexpected turns, making it even more dramatic and compelling.”—New York Journal of Books
 
“Impressive . . . Jess-Cooke is every bit as skillful in her vivid portrayals of unworldly beings . . . as in illustrating the dreadful toll taken by mental illness.”—Booklist
 
“A searing novel of suspense.”—Publishers Weekly

“A psychologically complex thriller, told with compassion in a marvelously suspenseful narrative that keeps you engaged from the first page to the last . . . This book has it all: a dark and dangerous setting, characters full of depth, rich emotions, and a clever plot. You’ll fall in love with Alex—and his demons.”—Chevy Stevens, author of Still Missing
 
“Top-notch psychological suspense . . . Beware what you think you know. It might be only the demons talking.”—Lisa Gardner, author of Touch & Go
 
“Brilliant! Rich with fully formed characters, this heart-gripping novel will keep you riveted from first page to last.”—Jeffery Deaver, author of XO
 
“Utterly captivating, this is a book I adored and savored from the first to the very last magical page.”—Tess Gerritsen, author of Ice Cold


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Silent Wife, Karin Slaughter
The Silent Wife
by Karin Slaughter

List: $29.95

Sale: $20.97

Club: $14.97

Narrator: Kathleen Early
Published: 08/04/2020

The Sentinel A Jack Reacher Novel, Lee Child
The Sentinel
by Lee Child

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 10/27/2020

A Time for Mercy, John Grisham
A Time for Mercy
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 10/13/2020

Invisible Girl A Novel, Lisa Jewell
Invisible Girl
by Lisa Jewell

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Donna Banya
Published: 10/13/2020

The Searcher A Novel, Tana French
The Searcher
by Tana French

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Roger Clark
Published: 10/06/2020

If It Bleeds, Stephen King
If It Bleeds
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 04/28/2020

The Midwife Murders, James Patterson
The Midwife Murders
by James Patterson

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Sophie Amoss
Published: 08/11/2020

A Private Cathedral A Dave Robicheaux Novel, James Lee Burke
A Private Cathedral
by James Lee Burke

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 08/11/2020

Thick as Thieves, Sandra Brown
Thick as Thieves
by Sandra Brown

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Kyf Brewer
Published: 08/25/2020
{"id":"318934","ean":"9780385367998","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Boy Who Could See Demons","subtitle":"","author":"Carolyn Jess-Cooke","rating_average":"3.5","narrator":"Bruce Mann","ubr_id":"318934","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Bruce Mann","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}