The Book of Speculation, Erika Swyler
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Book of Speculation

Author: Erika Swyler

Narrator: David Pittu, Katherine Kellgren, Ari Fliakos

Unabridged: 11 hr 42 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/23/2015

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

"Dazzling...[a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga." --Sara Gruen, author of Water for ElephantsSimon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of "mermaids" in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away.As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola? In the tradition of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, The Book of Speculation is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

Recommended

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

City of Girls A Novel, Elizabeth Gilbert
City of Girls
by Elizabeth Gilbert

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Blair Brown
Published: 06/04/2019

Anxious People A Novel, Fredrik Backman
Anxious People
by Fredrik Backman

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Marin Ireland
Published: 09/08/2020

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
All the Light We Cannot See
by Anthony Doerr

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Zach Appelman
Published: 05/06/2014

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

White Ivy A Novel, Susie Yang
White Ivy
by Susie Yang

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Published: 11/03/2020

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars. A Novel, Joyce Carol Oates
Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.
by Joyce Carol Oates

List: $48.99

Sale: $34.30

Club Sale: $24.49

Narrator: Cheryl Smith
Published: 06/09/2020
{"id":"986213","ean":"9781427261441","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Book of Speculation","subtitle":"","author":"Erika Swyler","rating_average":"4.1","narrator":"David Pittu","ubr_id":"986213","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"David Pittu","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 42 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}