The Book of Speculation, Erika Swyler
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Book of Speculation

Author: Erika Swyler

Narrator: David Pittu, Katherine Kellgren, Ari Fliakos

Unabridged: 11 hr 42 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 06/23/2015

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

"Dazzling...[a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga." --Sara Gruen, author of Water for ElephantsSimon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of "mermaids" in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away.As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola? In the tradition of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, The Book of Speculation is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

Recommended

The Help, Kathryn Stockett
The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.Paulo Coelho’s masterpi...

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
All the Light We Cannot See
by Anthony Doerr

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as ...

Narrator: Zach Appelman
Published: 05/06/2014

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting th...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

#1 New York Times BestsellerA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review"Perfect for fa...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng
Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club PickThe runaway New York Times bestseller!Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & N...

Narrator: Jennifer Lim
Published: 09/12/2017

An American Marriage, Tayari Jones
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are rippe...

Narrator: Sean Crisden
Published: 02/06/2018

The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware
The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD Featured in TheSkimm An Entertainment Weekly “Summer Must List” Pick A New York Post “Summer Must-Read” Pick Included in Summer Book...

Narrator: Imogen Church
Published: 07/19/2016
{"id":"986213","ean":"9781427261441","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Book of Speculation","subtitle":"","author":"Erika Swyler","rating_average":"4.1","narrator":"David Pittu","ubr_id":"986213","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"David Pittu","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 43 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}