The Birth of the Modern: World Society 18151830 World Society 18151830, Paul Johnson
  • List: $39.95  |  Sale: $27.97
    Club: $19.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Birth of the Modern: World Society 18151830

Author: Paul Johnson

Narrator: Wanda McCaddon

Unabridged: 48 hr 46 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 08/13/2012

Genre: History - World

Synopsis

This is an extraordinary chronicle of the fifteen years, 1815-1830, that laid the foundations of modern society. It is a history of people, ideas, politics, manners, morals, economics, art, science and technology, diplomacy, business and commerce, literature, and revolution. From Wellington at Waterloo and Jackson at New Orleans to the surge of democratic power and reform, this tumultuous period saw the United States transform itself from an ex-colony into a formidable nation, Britain become the first industrial world power, Russia develop the fatal flaws that would engulf her in the twentieth century, and China and Japan set the stage for future development and catastrophe. Provocative, challenging, and listenable, this remarkable story is told through the lives and actions of its outstanding, curious, and ordinary people. "A colossal effort of energy and imagination."-Hugh Thomas, author of Rivers of Gold

Recommended

Factfulness Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the Worldand Why Things Are Better Than You Think, Hans Rosling
Factfulness
by Hans Rosling

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carryi...

Narrator: Richard Harries
Published: 04/03/2018

The End is Always Near Apocalyptic Moments, from the Bronze Age Collapse to Nuclear Near Misses, Dan Carlin
The End is Always Near
by Dan Carlin

The creator of the wildly popular award-winning podcast Hardcore History looks at some of the apocalyptic moments from the past as a way to frame the challenges of the future.Do tough times create tougher people? Can humanity handle the power of its...

Narrator: Dan Carlin
Published: 10/29/2019

A History of the World in 6 Glasses, Tom Standage
A History of the World in 6 Glasses
by Tom Standage

Throughout human history, certain drinks have done much more than just quench thirst. As Tom Standage relates with authority and charm, six of them have had a surprisingly pervasive influence on the course of history, becoming the defining drink dur...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 03/25/2011

The Silk Roads A New History of the World, Peter Frankopan
The Silk Roads
by Peter Frankopan

It was on the Silk Roads that East and West first encountered each other through trade and conquest, leading to the spread of ideas, cultures, and religions. From the rise and fall of empires to the spread of Buddhism and the advent of Christianity ...

Narrator: Laurence Kennedy
Published: 02/16/2016

Upheaval Turning Points for Nations in Crisis, Jared Diamond
Upheaval
by Jared Diamond

A brilliant new theory of how and why some nations recover from trauma and others don't, by the author of the landmark bestsellers Guns, Germs, and Steel and Collapse. In his earlier bestsellers Guns, Germs and Steel and Collapse, Jared Diamond tran...

Narrator: Henry Strozier
Published: 05/07/2019

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 02/04/2003

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 05/06/2003

Origin Story A Big History of Everything, David Christian
Origin Story
by David Christian

A captivating history of the universe -- from before the dawn of time through the far reaches of the distant future. Most historians study the smallest slivers of time, emphasizing specific dates, individuals, and documents. But what would it look l...

Narrator: Jamie Jackson
Published: 05/22/2018

The Six Wives of Henry VIII, Alison Weir
The Six Wives of Henry VIII
by Alison Weir

This acclaimed best-seller from popular historian Alison Weir is a fascinating look at the Tudor family dynasty and its most infamous ruler. The Six Wives of Henry VIII brings to life England’s oft-married monarch and the six wildly differen...

Narrator: Simon Prebble Prebble
Published: 02/24/2003
{"id":"458843","ean":"9781455158133","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Birth of the Modern: World Society 18151830","subtitle":"World Society 18151830","author":"Paul Johnson","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Wanda McCaddon","ubr_id":"458843","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"39.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"25.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Wanda McCaddon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 47 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}