The Beauty of Dirty Skin: The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out, Whitney Bowe
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Beauty of Dirty Skin: The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out

Author: Whitney Bowe

Narrator: Whitney Bowe, Lauren Ruff

Unabridged: 7 hr 26 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 04/17/2018

Genre: Medical - Dermatology

Synopsis

Internationally renowned dermatologist and research scientist Dr. Whitney Bowe presents, for the first time, the connection between a healthy gut and radiant, clear skin, with a 21-day program to maximize skin health and beauty.Every year, nearly 80 million Americans will consult their doctors about their skin. In fact, skin disorders beat out anxiety, depression, back pain, and diabetes as the number one reason Americans see their doctors. Unfortunately, however, the vast majority will receive only a surface-level treatment, leaving the underlying conditions at the root of their skin issues unresolved. Skin doesn't lie; it reflects overall health in unimaginable ways.In The Beauty of Dirty Skin, internationally renowned dermatologist and scientist Dr. Whitney Bowe shows readers that skin health is much more than skin deep. As a pioneering researcher on the cutting edge of the gut-brain-skin axis, she explains how the spectrum of skin disorders -- from stubborn acne and rosacea to psoriasis, eczema, and premature wrinkling -- are manifestations of irregularities rooted in the gut. Lasers, scalpels, creams, and prescription pads alone will not guarantee the consistently healthy, glowing skin we all seek. Instead, Dr. Bowe focuses on the microbiome -- where trillions of microbes "speak" to your skin via the brain -- and highlights the connection between sleep, stress, diet, gastrointestinal health, and the health of your skin. With simple explanations of the science, do-it-yourself practical skincare strategies, and a life-changing 21-day program, The Beauty of Dirty Skin is your roadmap to great skin from the inside out and the outside in.

Recommended

The Checklist Manifesto How to Get Things Right, Atul Gawande
The Checklist Manifesto
by Atul Gawande

The New York Times bestselling author of Better and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks the...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 12/22/2009

Dr. Mary's Monkey How the Unsolved Murder of a Doctor, a Secret Laboratory in New Orleans and Cancer-Causing Monkey Viruses Are Linked to Lee Harvey Oswald, the JFK Assassination and Emerging Global Epidemics, Edward T. Haslam
Dr. Mary's Monkey
by Edward T. Haslam

In this eye-opening exposé, Edward T. Haslam presents evidence of a complex web of medical secret-keeping that began with the handling of evidence in the JFK assassination.

Narrator: Jim Meskimen
Published: 09/17/2012

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between, Daniela Lamas
You Can Stop Humming Now
by Daniela Lamas

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being MortalFor readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medici...

Narrator: Daniela Lamas
Published: 03/27/2018

The Nurses A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital, Alexandra Robbins
The Nurses
by Alexandra Robbins

Nursing is more than a career; it's a calling, and one of the most important fascinating, and dangerous professions in the world. As the frontline responders battling traumas, illnesses, and aggression from surprising sources, nurses are remarkable...

Narrator: Alexandra Robbins
Published: 04/19/2016

Better A Surgeon's Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
Better
by Atul Gawande

The struggle to perform well is universal: each one of us faces fatigue, limited resources, and imperfect abilities in whatever we do. But nowhere is this drive to do better more important than in medicine, where lives are on the line with every dec...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 04/03/2007

The Gene An Intimate History, Siddhartha Mukherjee
The Gene
by Siddhartha Mukherjee

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What becomes of being human when we learn to “read” and ...

Narrator: Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 05/17/2016

Undoctored Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor, William Davis, MD
Undoctored
by William Davis, MD

Conventional health care is no longer working in your favor?but thankfully, Dr. Davis is. In his New York Times bestseller Wheat Belly, Dr. William Davis changed the lives of millions of people by teaching them to remove grains from their diets to ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 05/09/2017

The Mindbody Prescription Healing the Body, Healing the Pain, John E. Sarno
The Mindbody Prescription
by John E. Sarno

The New York Times bestselling guide to a healthy and pain-free life.Musculoskeletal pain disorders have reached epidemic proportions in the United States, with most doctors failing to recognize their underlying cause. In this acclaimed volume, Dr....

Narrator: Brian Holsopple
Published: 01/10/2012

An American Sickness How Healthcare Became Big Business and How You Can Take It Back, Elisabeth Rosenthal
An American Sickness
by Elisabeth Rosenthal

A New York Times bestseller/Washington Post Notable Book of 2017/NPR Best Books of 2017/Wall Street Journal Best Books of 2017 "This book will serve as the definitive guide to the past and future of health care in America.”—Sid...

Narrator: Nancy Linari
Published: 04/11/2017
{"id":"2131096","ean":"9781478975908","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Beauty of Dirty Skin: The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out","subtitle":"The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out","author":"Whitney Bowe","rating_average":"3.33","narrator":"Whitney Bowe","ubr_id":"2131096","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Whitney Bowe","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}