The Art of Breaking Things, Laura Sibson
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Art of Breaking Things

Author: Laura Sibson

Narrator: Phoebe Strole

Unabridged: 9 hr 47 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 06/18/2019

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Sexual Abuse

Synopsis

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won't stay silent.

Weekends are for partying with friends while trying to survive the mindnumbingness that is high school. The countdown to graduation is on, and Skye has her sights set on escaping to art school and not looking back.

But her party-first-ask-questions-later lifestyle starts to crumble when her mom rekindles her romance with the man who betrayed Skye's boundaries when he was supposed to be protecting her. She was too young to understand what was happening at the time, but now she doesn't know whether to run as far away from him as possible or give up her dreams to save her little sister. The only problem is that no one knows what he did to her. How can she reveal the secret she's guarded for so long?

With the help of her best friend and the only boy she's ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let her art speak for her when she's out of words. After years of hiding her past, she must become her own best ally.

Recommended

We Now Return to Regular Life, Martin Wilson
We Now Return to Regular Life
by Martin Wilson

The Face on the Milk Carton meets The Impossible Knife of Memory in this ripped-from-the-headlines novel that explores the power of being an ally—and a friend—when a kidnapped boy returns to his hometown.Sam Walsh had been missing for th...

Narrator: Will Ropp
Published: 08/01/2017

Sold, Patricia McCormick
Sold
by Patricia McCormick

Lakshmi is a thirteen-year-old girl who lives with her family in a small hut on a mountain in Nepal. Though she is desperately poor, her life is full of simple pleasures, like playing hopscotch with her best friend from school and having her mother ...

Narrator: Justine Eyre
Published: 11/26/2012

Identical, Ellen Hopkins
Identical
by Ellen Hopkins

In the latest hard-hitting YA novel by the New York Times bestselling author, sixteen-year-old identical twin girls must come to terms with their abusive father. Kaeleigh and Raeanne are sixteen-year-old identical twins, the daughters of a district...

Narrator: Laura Flanagan
Published: 08/27/2008

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock, Matthew Quick
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
by Matthew Quick

In addition to the P-38, there are four gifts, one for each of my friends. I want to say good-bye to them properly. I want to give them each something to remember me by. To let them know I really cared about them and I'm sorry I couldn't be more th...

Narrator: Noah Galvin
Published: 08/13/2013

This Is Where the World Ends, Amy Zhang
This Is Where the World Ends
by Amy Zhang

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s...

Narrator: Justis Bolding
Published: 03/22/2016

Some Boys, Patty Blount
Some Boys
by Patty Blount

Some girls say no. Some boys don't listen. When Grace meets Ian, she's afraid. Afraid he'll reject her like the rest of the school, like her own family. After she accuses Zac, the town golden boy, of rape, everyone turns against her. Ian wouldn't b...

Narrator: Em Eldridge
Published: 11/21/2017

The Nowhere Girls, Amy Reed
The Nowhere Girls
by Amy Reed

“A call-to-action to everyone out there who wants to fight back.” —Bustle “Scandal, justice, romance, sex positivity, subversive anti-sexism—just try to put it down.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “...

Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Published: 03/13/2018

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, E.K. Johnston
Exit, Pursued by a Bear
by E.K. Johnston

From #1 New York Times bestselling author E.K. Johnston comes a brave and unforgettable story that will inspire readers to rethink how we treat survivors. Hermione Winters is captain of her cheerleading team, and in tiny Palermo Heights, this d...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 03/15/2016

Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson
Speak
by Laurie Halse Anderson

From her first moment at Merryweather High, Melinda Sordino knows she's an outcast. She busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops — a major infraction in high-school society — so her old friends won't talk to her, and people she ...

Narrator: Mandy Siegfried
Published: 01/09/2007
{"id":"3193779","ean":"9781984889348","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Art of Breaking Things","subtitle":"","author":"Laura Sibson","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Phoebe Strole","ubr_id":"3193779","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Phoebe Strole","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}