Symptoms of Being Human, Jeff Garvin
  • List: $22.99  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Symptoms of Being Human

Author: Jeff Garvin

Narrator: Tom Phelan

Unabridged: 7 hr 47 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 02/02/2016

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Coming Of Age

Ages: 14 - UP

Synopsis

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Recommended

Release, Patrick Ness
Release
by Patrick Ness

Inspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway, this novel that Andrew Smith calls “beautiful, enchanting, [and] exquisitely written” is a new classic about teenage relationships, self-acceptance—a...

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 09/19/2017

Bless the Beasts & Children, Glendon Swarthout
Bless the Beasts & Children
by Glendon Swarthout

“Send Us A Boy. . . We’ll Send You A Cowboy!” is the slogan of the Box County Boy’s Camp. But for the nail-biters, thumb-suckers and teeth-grinders—the cast-away offspring of parents who are busy traveling, being divorc...

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 01/12/2004

A Day No Pigs Would Die, Robert Newton Peck
A Day No Pigs Would Die
by Robert Newton Peck

Originally published in hardcover in 1972, A Day No Pigs Would Die was one of the first young adult books, along with titles like The Outsiders and The Chocolate War. In it, author Robert Newton Peck weaves a story ofa Vermont boyhood that is part f...

Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Published: 01/26/2010

The Off Season, Catherine Gilbert Murdock
The Off Season
by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Life is looking up for D.J. Schwenk. She's in eleventh grade, finally. After a rocky summer, she's reconnecting in a big way with her best friend, Amber. She's got kind of a thing going with Brian Nelson, who's cute and popular and smart but seems t...

Narrator: Natalie Moore
Published: 05/22/2007

Smothered, Autumn Chiklis
Smothered
by Autumn Chiklis

A humorous debut crossover young adult novel about what happens when entering the "real world" means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis' real life.

Narrator: Autumn Chiklis
Published: 08/07/2018

The Hundredth Queen, Emily R. King
The Hundredth Queen
by Emily R. King

In Emily R. King’s thrilling fantasy debut, an orphan girl blossoms into a warrior, summoning courage and confidence in her fearless quest to upend tradition, overthrow an empire, and reclaim her life as her own.As an orphan ward of the Sister...

Narrator: Lauren Ezzo
Published: 06/01/2017

Tree Girl, Ben Mikaelsen
Tree Girl
by Ben Mikaelsen

YALSA Amazing Audiobooks for Young AdultsBased on a true story, this novel tells the heartwrenching story of a girl in the midst of civil war in Guatemala.In her remote Guatemalan village, 14-year-old Gabriela is known as Tree Girl for her habit of ...

Narrator: Amber Sealey
Published: 01/13/2009

Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel, Val Emmich
Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel
by Val Emmich

From the show's creators comes the groundbreaking novel inspired by the hit Broadway show Dear Evan Hansen. Dear Evan Hansen, Today's going to be an amazing day and here's why...When a letter that was never meant to be seen by anyone draws high sch...

Narrator: Ben Levi Ross
Published: 10/09/2018

Then Again, Maybe I Won't, Judy Blume
Then Again, Maybe I Won't
by Judy Blume

Ever since his dad got rich from an invention and his family moved to a wealthy neighborhood on Long Island, Tony Miglione’s life has been turned upside down. For starters, there’s his new friend, Joel, who shoplifts. Then there’s ...

Narrator: Justin Long
Published: 03/26/2002
{"id":"1245352","ean":"9780062447258","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Symptoms of Being Human","subtitle":"","author":"Jeff Garvin","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Tom Phelan","ubr_id":"1245352","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Tom Phelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}