Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America, Britt Collins
  • List: $19.95  |  Sale: $13.97
    Club: $9.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America

Author: Britt Collins

Narrator: George Newbern

Unabridged: 6 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 07/18/2017

Genre: Pets - Cats

Synopsis

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor, and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California and to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when hes down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner. As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each others troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor.The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.

Recommended

Dewey's Nine Lives The Magic of a Small-town Library Cat Who Touched Millions, Vicki Myron
Dewey's Nine Lives
by Vicki Myron

Share your fabulous feline photos with us in the Dewey the Library Cat group in Penguin Community.The cat that captured America's hearts returns, to share more of his special brand of magic. Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World...

Narrator: Andrea Gallo
Published: 10/12/2010

James Herriot's Cat Stories, James Herriot
James Herriot's Cat Stories
by James Herriot

An ideal match of author and subject: James Herriot and the adorable felines that delight so many millions of pet fanciers around the world. Kittens and cats of all kinds abound in this program and, like their flesh-and-blood counterparts, they will...

Narrator: Christopher Timothy
Published: 03/01/2003

Trainable Cat, The, John Bradshaw
Trainable Cat, The
by John Bradshaw

Dog owners know that dogs can be trained, but the idea of training rarely crosses cat owners' minds. But as bestselling anthrozoologist John Bradshaw and cat expert Sarah Ellis show, not only can cats be trained, but they absolutely should be to ...

Narrator: Paul Ansdell
Published: 09/27/2016

Homer's Odyssey A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat, Gwen Cooper
Homer's Odyssey
by Gwen Cooper

Once in nine lives,something extraordinary happens...The last thing Gwen Cooper wanted was another cat. She already had two, not to mention a phenomenally underpaying job and a recently broken heart. Then Gwen’s veterinarian called with a stor...

Narrator: RenA©e Raudman
Published: 08/25/2009

Chicken Soup for the Soul: What I Learned from the Cat 101 Stories about Life, Love, and Lessons, Jack Canfield
Chicken Soup for the Soul: What I Learned from the Cat
by Jack Canfield

Cats have always been wonderful companions and playmates that brighten and enrich our lives but they are also amazing teachers. In this audiobook, cat lovers, both lifelong and reluctant, share what they have learned from their furry companions. Chi...

Narrator: Wendy Diamond
Published: 09/01/2011

The Inner Life of Cats The Science and Secrets of Our Mysterious Feline Companions, Thomas McNamee
The Inner Life of Cats
by Thomas McNamee

Our feline companions are much-loved but often mysterious. In The Inner Life of Cats, Thomas McNamee blends scientific reportage with engaging, illustrative anecdotes about his own beloved cat, Augusta, to explore and illuminate the secrets and eni...

Narrator: Bob Reiss
Published: 03/28/2017

Chicken Soup for the Soul: What I Learned from the Cat - 31 Stories about Who's in Charge, How to Love a Cat, and Be Your Best, Jack Canfield
Chicken Soup for the Soul: What I Learned from the Cat - 31 Stories about Who's in Charge, How to Love a Cat, and Be Your Best
by Jack Canfield

31 Stories about Who''s in Charge, How to Love a Cat, and Be Your Best Learning Who''s in Charge Learing to Love the Cat Learning to Be My Best

Narrator: Wendy Diamond
Published: 11/20/2010

The Lion in the Living Room How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World, Abigail Tucker
The Lion in the Living Room
by Abigail Tucker

***A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*** ***AN INDIEBOUND BESTSELLER*** "In The Lion in the Living Room, three things come together with exquisite, delightful effect: a natural history of cats, replete with ecological issues as well as cont...

Narrator: Arden Hammersmith
Published: 10/18/2016

Kit Kat and Lucy The Country Cats Who Changed a City Girl's World, Lonnie Hull DuPont
Kit Kat and Lucy
by Lonnie Hull DuPont

The True Story of How Two Quirky Stray Cats Changed Their Adopted Human Forever After years of loving the vibrant city life in San Francisco, Lonnie Hull DuPont reluctantly trades her three-room apartment on foggy, lively Telegraph Hill for a farmho...

Narrator: Lonnie Hull DuPont
Published: 09/06/2016
{"id":"1746653","ean":"9781538433560","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America","subtitle":"A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America","author":"Britt Collins","rating_average":"4.75","narrator":"George Newbern","ubr_id":"1746653","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Newbern","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}