Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America, Britt Collins
  • List: $19.95  |  Sale: $13.97
    Club: $9.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America

Author: Britt Collins

Narrator: George Newbern

Unabridged: 6 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 07/18/2017

Genre: Pets - Cats

Synopsis

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor, and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California and to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when hes down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner. As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each others troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor.The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.

Recommended

For the Love of a Dog Understanding Emotion in You and Your Best Friend, Ph.D. McConnell
For the Love of a Dog
by Ph.D. McConnell

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Ellen Archer
Published: 10/15/2006

James Herriot's Cat Stories, James Herriot
James Herriot's Cat Stories
by James Herriot

List: $10.99

Sale: $7.70

Club: $5.49

Narrator: Christopher Timothy
Published: 03/01/2003

Dewey The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Vicki Myron
Dewey
by Vicki Myron

List: $18.98

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Susan McInearny
Published: 10/07/2010

Marley & Me Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog, John Grogan
Marley & Me
by John Grogan

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 07/05/2016

Homer's Odyssey A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat, Gwen Cooper
Homer's Odyssey
by Gwen Cooper

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: RenA©e Raudman
Published: 08/25/2009

Trainable Cat, The, John Bradshaw
Trainable Cat, The
by John Bradshaw

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Paul Ansdell
Published: 09/27/2016

Tiny But Mighty Kitten Lady's Guide to Saving the Most Vulnerable Felines, Hannah Shaw
Tiny But Mighty
by Hannah Shaw

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Hannah Shaw
Published: 08/06/2019

The Inner Life of Cats The Science and Secrets of Our Mysterious Feline Companions, Thomas McNamee
The Inner Life of Cats
by Thomas McNamee

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Bob Reiss
Published: 03/28/2017

The Lion in the Living Room How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World, Abigail Tucker
The Lion in the Living Room
by Abigail Tucker

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Arden Hammersmith
Published: 10/18/2016
{"id":"1746653","ean":"9781538433560","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America","subtitle":"A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America","author":"Britt Collins","rating_average":"4.75","narrator":"George Newbern","ubr_id":"1746653","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Newbern","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}