Stormtroopers: A New History of Hitler's Brownshirts, Daniel Siemens
  • List: $34.99  |  Sale: $24.50
    Club: $17.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Stormtroopers: A New History of Hitler's Brownshirts

Author: Daniel Siemens

Narrator: Roger Clark

Unabridged: 18 hr 32 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Highbridge Audio

Published: 11/07/2017

Genre: History - Holocaust

Synopsis

Germany's Stormtroopers engaged in a vicious siege of violence that propelled the National Socialists to power in the 1930s. Known also as the SA or Brownshirts, these 'ordinary' men waged a loosely structured campaign of intimidation and savagery across the nation from the 1920s to the 'Night of the Long Knives' in 1934, when Chief of Staff Ernst Röhm and many other SA leaders were assassinated on Hitler's orders. In this deeply researched history, Daniel Siemens explores not only the roots of the SA and its swift decapitation but also its previously unrecognized transformation into a million-member Nazi organization, its activities in German-occupied territories during World War II, and its particular contributions to the Holocaust. The author provides portraits of individual members and their victims and examines their milieu, culture, and ideology. His book tells the long-overdue story of the SA and its devastating impact on German citizens and the fate of their country.

Recommended

The Book Thieves The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance, Anders Rydell
The Book Thieves
by Anders Rydell

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return ...

Narrator: Henning Koch
Published: 02/07/2017

Killing the SS The Hunt for the Worst War Criminals in History, Bill O'Reilly
Killing the SS
by Bill O'Reilly

Confronting Nazi evil is the subject of the latest installment in the mega-bestselling Killing seriesAs the true horrors of the Third Reich began to be exposed immediately after World War II, the Nazi war criminals who committed genocide went on the...

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 10/09/2018

The Third Reich in Power, Richard J. Evans
The Third Reich in Power
by Richard J. Evans

The definitive account of Germany's malign transformation under Hitler's total rule and the implacable march to war This magnificent second volume of Richard J. Evans's three-volume history of Nazi Germany was hailed by Benjamin Schwartz of the ...

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 06/07/2010

I Shall Live Surviving the Holocaust Against All Odds, Henry Orenstein
I Shall Live
by Henry Orenstein

I Shall Live tells the gripping true story of a Jewish family in Germany and Russia as the Nazi party gains power in Germany. When Henry Orenstein and his siblings end up in a series of concentrations camps, Orenstein's bravery and quick thinking he...

Narrator: Henry Orenstein
Published: 11/01/2013

In the Garden of Beasts Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin, Erik Larson
In the Garden of Beasts
by Erik Larson

“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review  Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the bes...

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 05/10/2011

Black Earth The Holocaust as History and Warning, Timothy Snyder
Black Earth
by Timothy Snyder

A brilliant, haunting, and profoundly original portrait of the defining tragedy of our time.In this epic history of extermination and survival, Timothy Snyder presents a new explanation of the great atrocity of the twentieth century, and reveals the...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 09/08/2015

Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex, Anne Frank
Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex
by Anne Frank

The candid, poignant, unforgettable writing of the young girl whose own life story has become an everlasting source of courage and inspiration.Hiding from the Nazis in the “Secret Annex” of an old office building in Amsterdam, a thirteen...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 03/23/2010

The Zookeepers Wife A War Story, Diane Ackerman
The Zookeepers Wife
by Diane Ackerman

Jan and Antonina Zabinski were Polish Christian zookeepers horrified by Nazi racism, who managed to save over three hundred people. Yet their story has fallen between the seams of history. Drawing on Antonina's diary and other historical sources, be...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 01/01/2007

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl The Definitive Edition, Anne Frank
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
by Anne Frank

Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, ...

Narrator: Selma Blair
Published: 05/25/2010
{"id":"1966425","ean":"9781681688787","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Stormtroopers: A New History of Hitler's Brownshirts","subtitle":"A New History of Hitler's Brownshirts","author":"Daniel Siemens","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Roger Clark","ubr_id":"1966425","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"34.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"20.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Roger Clark","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 18 hr 34 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}