Spiral, Paul McEuen
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Spiral

Author: Paul McEuen

Narrator: Rob Shapiro

Unabridged: 10 hr 37 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 03/22/2011

Genre: Fiction - Mystery & Detective

Synopsis

In this riveting debut thriller—a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award—the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. Spiral is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston.

When Nobel laureate Liam Connor is found dead at the bottom of one of Ithaca, New York’s famous gorges, his research collaborator, Cornell professor of nanoscience Jake Sterling, refuses to believe it was suicide. Why would one of the world’s most eminent biologists, a eighty-six-year old man in good health who survived some of the darkest days of the Second World War, have chosen to throw himself off a bridge? And who was the mysterious woman caught on camera at the scene? Soon it becomes clear that a cache of supersophisticated nanorobots—each the size of a spider—has disappeared from the dead man’s laboratory.

Stunned by grief, Jake, Liam’s granddaughter, Maggie, and Maggie’s nine-year-old son, Dylan, try to put the pieces together. They uncover ingeniously coded messages Liam left behind pointing toward a devastating secret he gleaned off the shores of war-ravaged Japan and carried for more than sixty years.

What begins as a quest for answers soon leads to a horrifying series of revelations at the crossroads of biological warfare and nanoscience. At this dangerous intersection, a skilled and sadistic assassin, an infamous Japanese war criminal, and a ruthless U.S. government official are all players in a harrowing game of power, treachery, and intrigue—a game whose winner will hold the world’s fate literally in the palm of his hand.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Squeeze Me A novel, Carl Hiaasen
Squeeze Me
by Carl Hiaasen

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 08/25/2020

Razor Girl, Carl Hiaasen
Razor Girl
by Carl Hiaasen

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: John Rubinstein
Published: 09/06/2016

A Is For Alibi, Sue Grafton
A Is For Alibi
by Sue Grafton

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Mary Peiffer,Judy Kaye
Published: 10/18/2005

One for the Money, Janet Evanovich
One for the Money
by Janet Evanovich

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: C. J. Critt
Published: 12/10/1995

The Punishment She Deserves A Lynley Novel, Elizabeth George
The Punishment She Deserves
by Elizabeth George

List: $30.00

Sale: $21.00

Club: $15.00

Narrator: Simon Vance
Published: 03/20/2018

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
Gone Girl
by Gillian Flynn

List: $24.00

Sale: $16.80

Club: $12.00

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 06/05/2012

The Bounty A Novel, Janet Evanovich
The Bounty
by Janet Evanovich

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 03/23/2021

Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan ...
by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Simon Vance
Published: 03/28/2017

Girl on a Train, AJ Waines
Girl on a Train
by AJ Waines

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Melissa Chambers
Published: 12/15/2015
{"id":"318188","ean":"9780307881250","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Spiral","subtitle":"","author":"Paul McEuen","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Rob Shapiro","ubr_id":"318188","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rob Shapiro","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 37 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}