Spin the Dawn, Elizabeth Lim
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.80
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Spin the Dawn

Author: Elizabeth Lim

Series: The Blood of Stars #1

Narrator: Kim Mai Guest

Unabridged: 13 hr 54 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Listening Library

Published: 07/09/2019

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy

Ages: 12 - UP

Synopsis

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.
     Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.
     And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
     Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

"Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." --Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked

"What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

"Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

{"id":"3169415","ean":"9781984884527","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Spin the Dawn","subtitle":"","author":"Elizabeth Lim","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Kim Mai Guest","series_id":"9520","ubr_id":"3169415","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kim Mai Guest","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 54 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}