Solo, Kwame Alexander
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Solo

Author: Kwame Alexander, Mary Rand Hess

Narrator: Kwame Alexander with Randy Preston

Unabridged: 4 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Zondervan

Published: 08/01/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Novels In Verse

Ages: 14 - 17

Synopsis

New York Times bestseller!

Blade never asked for a life of the rich and famous. In fact, he’d give anything not to be the son of Rutherford Morrison, a washed-up rock star and drug addict with delusions of a comeback. Or to no longer be part of a family known most for lost potential, failure, and tragedy, including the loss of his mother. The one true light is his girlfriend, Chapel, but her parents have forbidden their relationship, assuming Blade will become just like his father.

In reality, the only thing Blade and Rutherford have in common is the music that lives inside them. And songwriting is all Blade has left after Rutherford, while drunk, crashes his high school graduation speech and effectively rips Chapel away forever. But when a long-held family secret comes to light, the music disappears. In its place is a letter, one that could bring Blade the freedom and love he’s been searching for, or leave him feeling even more adrift.

“A contemporary hero’s journey, brilliantly told.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A rhythmic, impassioned ode to family, identity, and the history of rock and roll.” —Booklist, starred review

“Many readers will identify with Blade’s struggle to find his place in a family where he feels like an outsider.” —Publishers Weekly

“The authentic character development and tone will strike a chord with young adults.” —School Library Journal

 

Recommended

500 Words or Less, Juleah del Rosario
500 Words or Less
by Juleah del Rosario

A high school senior attempts to salvage her reputation among her Ivy League-obsessed classmates by writing their college admissions essays and in the process learns big truths about herself in this mesmerizing debut novel-in-verse, perfect for fans...

Narrator: Annie Q
Published: 04/02/2019

Three Things I Know Are True, Betty Culley
Three Things I Know Are True
by Betty Culley

Fans of Jandy Nelson and Marieke Nijkamp will love this deeply moving novel in verse about the aftermath of a gun accident.Life changes forever for Liv when her older brother, Jonah, accidentally shoots himself with his best friend Clay’s fath...

Narrator: Cassandra Morris
Published: 01/07/2020

This Full House, Virginia Euwer Wolff
This Full House
by Virginia Euwer Wolff

Each discovery disturbs the arrangements of the known world, and it is our job to stay alert to all possibilities.LaVaughn believes she is keeping alert to all possibilities. She has made it through the projects, she’s gotten over heartbreak, ...

Narrator: Heather Alicia Simms
Published: 01/27/2009

The Surrender Tree, Margarita Engle
The Surrender Tree
by Margarita Engle

How can there bea little war?Are some deathssmaller than others,leaving motherswho weepa little less?Cuba has fought three wars for independence, and still she is not free. Her people have been rounded up in reconcentration camps, where there is alw...

Narrator: Various
Published: 04/28/2009

Blood Water Paint, Joy McCullough
Blood Water Paint
by Joy McCullough

"When I finished this novel, I knew I would be haunted and empowered by Artemisia Gentileschi's story for the rest of my life."—Amanda Lovelace, bestselling author of the princess saves herself in this oneHer mother died when she was twelve, a...

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 05/15/2018

Dark Sons, Nikki Grimes
Dark Sons
by Nikki Grimes

a€œBoth lyrical and powerful, Grimesa€™ unusual novel is mediation on faith and father-son relationships a€¦ Grimesa€™ commanding metaphors, authoritative style and complex characterizations are uniquely ...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 08/24/2010

The Poet X, Elizabeth Acevedo
The Poet X
by Elizabeth Acevedo

A 2018 National Book Award Finalist! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who ...

Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo
Published: 03/06/2018

The Crossover, Kwame Alexander
The Crossover
by Kwame Alexander

Fourteen-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health.

Narrator: Corey Allen
Published: 06/26/2014

A Girl Named Mister, Nikki Grimes
A Girl Named Mister
by Nikki Grimes

Nikki Grimes, a bestselling author known for titles such as Dark Sons, Barak Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope, and Voices of Christmas has written a gripping book from the perspective of a girl named Mister (Mary Rudine) who finds herself moment...

Narrator: Nikki Grimes
Published: 08/24/2010
{"id":"1745257","ean":"9780310761891","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Solo","subtitle":"","author":"Kwame Alexander","rating_average":"2.67","narrator":"Kwame Alexander with Randy Preston","ubr_id":"1745257","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kwame Alexander with Randy Preston","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}