Soldiers and Slaves: American POWs Trapped by the Nazis' Final Gamble, Roger Cohen
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Soldiers and Slaves: American POWs Trapped by the Nazis' Final Gamble

Author: Roger Cohen

Narrator: Michael Prichard

Unabridged: 11 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 05/10/2005

Genre: History - Holocaust

Synopsis

In February 1945, 350 American POWs captured earlier at the Battle of the Bulge or elsewhere in Europe were singled out by the Nazis because they were Jews or were thought to resemble Jews. They were transported in cattle cars to Berga, a concentration camp in eastern Germany, and put to work as slave laborers, mining tunnels for a planned underground synthetic-fuel factory. This was the only incident of its kind during World War II.

Starved and brutalized, the GIs were denied their rights as prisoners of war, their ordeal culminating in a death march that was halted by liberation near the Czech border. Twenty percent of these soldiers–more than seventy of them–perished. After t_he war, Berga was virtually forgotten, partly because it fell under Soviet domination and partly because America’s Cold War priorities quickly changed, and the experiences of these Americans were buried.
Now, for the first time, their story is told in all its blistering detail. This is the story of hell in a small place over a period of nine weeks, at a time when Hitler’s Reich was crumbling but its killing machine still churned. It is a tale of madness and heroism, and of the failure to deliver justice for what the Nazis did to these Americans.

Among those involved: William Shapiro, a young medic from the Bronx, hardened in Normandy battles but, as a prisoner, unable to help the Nazis’ wasted slaves, whose bodies became as insubstantial as ghosts; Hans Kasten, a defiant German-American who enraged his Nazi captors by demanding, in vain, that his fellow U.S. prisoners be treated with humanity, thus committing the unpardonable sin of betraying his German roots; Morton Goldstein, a garrulous GI from New Jersey, shot dead by the Nazi in charge of the American prisoners in an incident that would spark intense debate at a postwar trial; and Mordecai Hauer, the orphaned Hungarian Jew who, after surviving Auschwitz, stumbled on the GIs in the midst of the Holocaust at Berga and despaired at the sight of liberators become slaves.

Roger Cohen uncovers exactly why the U.S. government did not aggressively prosecute the commandants of Berga, why there was no particular recognition for the POWs and their harsh treatment in the postwar years, and why it took decades for them to receive proper compensation.

Soldiers and Slaves is an intimate, intensely dramatic story of war and of a largely forgotten chapter of the Holocaust.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Book Thieves The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance, Anders Rydell
The Book Thieves
by Anders Rydell

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return ...

Narrator: Henning Koch
Published: 02/07/2017

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl The Definitive Edition, Anne Frank
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
by Anne Frank

Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, ...

Narrator: Selma Blair
Published: 05/25/2010

I Shall Live Surviving the Holocaust Against All Odds, Henry Orenstein
I Shall Live
by Henry Orenstein

I Shall Live tells the gripping true story of a Jewish family in Germany and Russia as the Nazi party gains power in Germany. When Henry Orenstein and his siblings end up in a series of concentrations camps, Orenstein's bravery and quick thinking he...

Narrator: Henry Orenstein
Published: 11/01/2013

In the Garden of Beasts Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin, Erik Larson
In the Garden of Beasts
by Erik Larson

“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review  Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the bes...

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 05/10/2011

Killing the SS The Hunt for the Worst War Criminals in History, Bill O'Reilly
Killing the SS
by Bill O'Reilly

Confronting Nazi evil is the subject of the latest installment in the mega-bestselling Killing seriesAs the true horrors of the Third Reich began to be exposed immediately after World War II, the Nazi war criminals who committed genocide went on the...

Narrator: Bill O'Reilly
Published: 10/09/2018

The Zookeepers Wife A War Story, Diane Ackerman
The Zookeepers Wife
by Diane Ackerman

Jan and Antonina Zabinski were Polish Christian zookeepers horrified by Nazi racism, who managed to save over three hundred people. Yet their story has fallen between the seams of history. Drawing on Antonina's diary and other historical sources, be...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 01/01/2007

The Third Reich in Power, Richard J. Evans
The Third Reich in Power
by Richard J. Evans

The definitive account of Germany's malign transformation under Hitler's total rule and the implacable march to war This magnificent second volume of Richard J. Evans's three-volume history of Nazi Germany was hailed by Benjamin Schwartz of the ...

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 06/07/2010

Black Earth The Holocaust as History and Warning, Timothy Snyder
Black Earth
by Timothy Snyder

A brilliant, haunting, and profoundly original portrait of the defining tragedy of our time.In this epic history of extermination and survival, Timothy Snyder presents a new explanation of the great atrocity of the twentieth century, and reveals the...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 09/08/2015

Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex, Anne Frank
Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex
by Anne Frank

The candid, poignant, unforgettable writing of the young girl whose own life story has become an everlasting source of courage and inspiration.Hiding from the Nazis in the “Secret Annex” of an old office building in Amsterdam, a thirteen...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 03/23/2010
{"id":"327356","ean":"9781415925584","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Soldiers and Slaves: American POWs Trapped by the Nazis' Final Gamble","subtitle":"American POWs Trapped by the Nazis' Final Gamble","author":"Roger Cohen","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Michael Prichard","ubr_id":"327356","abr_id":"319943","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"14.98","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"9.74","ubr_narrator":"Michael Prichard","abr_narrator":"Sam Tsoutsouvas","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: 6 hr 10 min"}