She Persisted Opal Lee, Shelia P. Moses
List: $10.00 | Sale: $7.20
Club: $5.00

She Persisted: Opal Lee

Unabridged: 41 min

Format: Digital Audiobook Download

Published: 12/19/2023


Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger, a chapter book series about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds—including Opal Lee!

Opal Lee grew up as a Black girl in Texas at a time when Black and white people were kept separate and Black people had fewer opportunities than white people did. She knew that this wasn’t right, and she grew up to be a teacher and a community leader, determined to help create a better future for all people. A big part of her work and life was making Juneteenth a national holiday to mark the end of enslavement for Black Americans. She loved this day as both a celebration and as a way of teaching about the past. Opal’s work and dedication has helped millions of people learn about important parts of American history.

In this chapter book biography by critically acclaimed author Shelia P. Moses, readers learn about the amazing life of Opal Lee—and how she persisted. 

Complete with an introduction from Chelsea Clinton, black-and-white illustrations throughout, and a list of ways that readers can follow in Opal Lee's footsteps and make a difference! A perfect choice for kids who love learning and teachers who want to bring inspiring women into their curriculum.

And don’t miss out on the rest of the books in the She Persisted series, featuring so many more women who persisted, including Harriet Tubman, Claudette Colvin, Coretta Scott King, Marian Anderson, and more!