Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States, Maria Goodavage
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States

Author: Maria Goodavage

Narrator: Clint Hill, Nicole Vilencia

Unabridged: 9 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 10/25/2016

Genre: Pets - Dogs - Training

Synopsis

In an age fraught with terrorism, United States Secret Service canine teams risk their lives to safeguard the president, vice president, their families, visiting heads of state, and a host of others. Unprecedented access to these heroic dog teams has allowed a fascinating first-time-ever look at a very special breed of heroes.

Wherever the president goes, there will be dogs. They’ll be there no matter what the country or state. They’ll be there regardless of the political climate, the danger level, the weather, or the hour. 

“If you let down your guard on the job,” says Special Agent Bill G., canine program manager, “it can change the history of the world.” It’s a burden Secret Service dog handlers take extremely seriously regardless of their specialty. Tactical dog handlers on the White House lawn, handlers whose dogs sniff for explosives around the world, and those who walk their amiable floppy-eared dogs up and down Pennsylvania Avenue all live one common mantra: Not on my watch. Or my dog’s.

Secret Service Dogs immerses readers into the heart of this elite world of canine teams who protect first families, popes, and presidential candidates: the selection of dogs and handlers, their year-round training, their missions around the world, and, most important, the bond—the glue that holds the teams together and can mean the difference between finding bombs and terrorists or letting them slip by.

“These animals will gladly run into a hail of gunfire,” says '"Stew," a Secret Service ERT tactical canine unit supervisor. “All they ask in return is for their handlers to throw the ball with them, pet them, and talk to them in an embarrassingly high voice.”

Secret Service Dogs celebrates the Secret Service’s most unforgettable canine heroes. It is a must-read for fans of Maria Goodavage, anyone who wants a rare inside view of the United States Secret Service, or just loves dogs.

Recommended

Be the Pack Leader Use Cesar's Way to Transform Your Dog...And Your Life, Cesar Millan
Be the Pack Leader
by Cesar Millan

Bestselling author Cesar Millan takes his principles of dog psychology a step further, showing you how to develop the calm-assertive energy of a successful pack leader and use it to improve your dog’s life–and your own.Filled with practi...

Narrator: John H. Mayer
Published: 10/02/2007

Trident K9 Warriors My Tale From the Training Ground to the Battlefield with Elite Navy SEAL Canines, Mike Ritland
Trident K9 Warriors
by Mike Ritland

As a Navy SEAL during a combat deployment in Iraq, Mike Ritland saw a military working dog in action and instantly knew he'd found his true calling. Ritland started his own company training and supplying dogs for the SEAL teams, U.S. Government, and...

Narrator: Jeff Gurner
Published: 04/15/2013

The Education of Will A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog, Patricia B. McConnell
The Education of Will
by Patricia B. McConnell

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a tro...

Narrator: Ellen Archer
Published: 02/21/2017

Zak George's Guide to a Well-Behaved Dog Proven Solutions to the Most Common Training Problems for All Ages, Breeds, and Mixes, Zak George
Zak George's Guide to a Well-Behaved Dog
by Zak George

Does your dog bark a lot, pull on the leash, hate to be left alone, or have accidents in the house?    Celebrity dog trainer and YouTube star Zak George creates the most watched dog training content in the world and has helped millions of ...

Narrator: Zak George
Published: 07/09/2019

Through a Dog's Eyes, Jennifer Arnold
Through a Dog's Eyes
by Jennifer Arnold

A stirring, inspiring book with the power to change the way we understand and communicate with our dogs. Few people are more qualified to speak about the abilities and potential of dogs than Jennifer Arnold, who for the past twenty years has tr...

Narrator: Jennifer Arnold
Published: 08/10/2010

How to Raise the Perfect Dog Through Puppyhood and Beyond, Cesar Millan
How to Raise the Perfect Dog
by Cesar Millan

From the bestselling author and star of National Geographic Channel's Dog Whisperer, the only resource you’ll need for raising a happy, healthy dog. For the millions of people every year who consider bringing a puppy into their lives–as ...

Narrator: Cesar Millan
Published: 10/06/2009

How to Raise the Perfect Dog Through Puppyhood and Beyond, Cesar Millan
How to Raise the Perfect Dog
by Cesar Millan

From the bestselling author and star of National Geographic Channel's Dog Whisperer, the only resource you’ll need for raising a happy, healthy dog. For the millions of people every year who consider bringing a puppy into their lives–as ...

Narrator: Cesar Millan
Published: 10/06/2009

Inside of a Dog What Dogs See, Smell, and Know, Alexandra Horowitz
Inside of a Dog
by Alexandra Horowitz

The bestselling book that asks what dogs know and how they think. The answers will surprise and delight you as Alexandra Horowitz, a cognitive scientist, explains how dogs perceive their daily worlds, each other, and that other quirky animal, the hu...

Narrator: Karen White
Published: 03/22/2016

Cesar's Way The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems, Cesar Millan
Cesar's Way
by Cesar Millan

In Cesar’s Way, Cesar Millan—nationally recognized dog expert and star of National Geographic Channel’s hit show Dog Whisperer with Cesar Millan—helps you see the world through the eyes of your dog so you can finally elim...

Narrator: John H. Mayer,Cesar Millan
Published: 04/04/2006
{"id":"1471762","ean":"9781524702601","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States","subtitle":"The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States","author":"Maria Goodavage","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Clint Hill","ubr_id":"1471762","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Clint Hill","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 45 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}