Save Me from Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story, Brian "Head" Welch
  • List: $13.95  |  Sale: $9.77
    Club: $6.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Save Me from Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story

Author: Brian "Head" Welch

Narrator: Ray Porter

Unabridged: 6 hr 22 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 05/13/2011

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

The amazing true story of an outofcontrol rock star, his devastating addiction to drugs, and his miraculous redemption through Jesus Christ In February 2005, more than ten thousand people in Bakersfield, California, watched as Brian Head Welchthe former lead guitarist of the controversial rock band Kornwas saved by Jesus Christ. The event set off a media frenzy as observers from around the world sought to understand what led this rock star out of the darkness and into the light. Now, in this courageous memoir, Head talks for the first time about his shocking embrace of God and the tumultuous decade that led him into the arms of Jesus Christ. Offering a backstage pass to his time with Korn, Head tells the inside story of his years in the band and explains how his rock star lifestyle resulted in an allconsuming addiction to methamphetamine. Writing openly about the tour bus mayhem of Ozzfest and the Family Values Tour, he provides a candid look at how the routine of recording, traveling, and partying placed him in a cycle of addiction that he could not break on his own. Speaking honestly about his addiction, Head details his struggles with the drug that ultimately led him to seek a higher power. Despite his numerous attempts to free himself from meth, nothingnot even the birth of his daughtercould spur him to kick it for good. Here Head addresses how, with the help of God, he emerged from his dangerous lifestyle and found a path that was not only right for his daughter, it was right for him. Discussing the chaotic end to his time in Korn and how his newfound faith has influenced his relationship with his daughter, his life, and his music, Head describes the challenging but rewarding events of previous years, exposing the truth about how his moments of doubt and his hardships have only deepened his faith. Candid, compelling, and inspirational, Save Me from Myself is a rock n roll journey unlike any other.

Recommended

When Breath Becomes Air, Paul Kalanithi
When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as a...

Narrator: Abraham Verghese
Published: 01/19/2016

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

Eat, Pray, Love One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers a...

Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 02/16/2006

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

Wild From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, Cheryl Strayed
Wild
by Cheryl Strayed

Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again. At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought s...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 03/20/2012

Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Scrappy Little Nobody
by Anna Kendrick

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.“I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations...

Narrator: Anna Kendrick
Published: 11/15/2016

We're Going to Need More Wine Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True, Gabrielle Union
We're Going to Need More Wine
by Gabrielle Union

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNominated for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary WorkNamed a Best Book of the Year by The RootChosen by Emma Straub as a Best New Celebrity Memoir“A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever prod...

Narrator: Gabrielle Union
Published: 10/17/2017
{"id":"102514","ean":"9781441786210","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Save Me from Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story","subtitle":"How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story","author":"Brian "Head" Welch","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Ray Porter","ubr_id":"102514","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"13.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.07","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ray Porter","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}