Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life, Sally Bedell Smith
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Best Seller

Author: Sally Bedell Smith

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor, Sally Bedell Smith

Unabridged: 18 hr 28 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/04/2017

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Royalty

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen comes the first major biography of Prince Charles in more than twenty years—perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than three hundred years. This vivid, eye-opening biography—the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more, some speaking on the record for the first time—is the first authoritative treatment of Charles’s life that sheds light on the death of Diana, his marriage to Camilla, and his preparations to take the throne one day.

Prince Charles brings to life the real man, with all of his ambitions, insecurities, and convictions. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father’s expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationships with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren.

Ranging from his glamorous palaces to his country homes, from his globe-trotting travels to his local initiatives, Smith shows how Prince Charles possesses a fiercely independent spirit and yet has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role, living a life dictated by protocols he often struggles to obey. With keen insight and the discovery of unexpected new details, Smith lays bare the contradictions of a man who is more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now.


With a Preface read by the Author


Advance praise for Prince Charles

“Prince Charles is an eighteenth-century gentleman with a twenty-first-century mission. His love of tradition combines with an outlook that can be bracingly avant garde. Sally Bedell Smith captures his contradictions and his convictions in this fascinating book that is not just about a man who would be king, but also about the duties that come with privilege.”—Walter Isaacson

“For all we know about Prince Charles, there is so much we didn’t know—until now. Sally Bedell Smith has given us a complete and compelling portrait of the man in the shadow of the throne. It’s all here, from the back stairs of the palaces to the front pages of the tabs. Read all about it!”—Tom Brokaw

Recommended

Elizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch, Sally Bedell Smith
Elizabeth the Queen
by Sally Bedell Smith

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Published: 01/10/2012

Elizabeth and Mary Cousins, Rivals, Queens, Jane Dunn
Elizabeth and Mary
by Jane Dunn

List: $29.95

Sale: $20.97

Club: $14.97

Narrator: Donada Peters,Isla Blair
Published: 10/15/2003

American Princess The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, Leslie Carroll
American Princess
by Leslie Carroll

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Andi Arndt
Published: 04/24/2018

Meghan A Hollywood Princess, Andrew Morton
Meghan
by Andrew Morton

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Charles Armstrong
Published: 04/17/2018

Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret, Craig Brown
Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Marg...
by Craig Brown

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Eleanor Bron
Published: 08/07/2018

The Rival Queens Catherine de' Medici, Her Daughter Marguerite de Valois, and the Betrayal that Ignited a Kingdom, Nancy Goldstone
The Rival Queens
by Nancy Goldstone

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 06/23/2015

Lady in Waiting My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown, Anne Glenconner
Lady in Waiting
by Anne Glenconner

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Anne Glenconner
Published: 03/24/2020

Mary Queen of Scots The True Life of Mary Stuart, John Guy
Mary Queen of Scots
by John Guy

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Lucy Rayner
Published: 12/07/2018

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, Robert K. Massie
Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Wo...
by Robert K. Massie

List: $30.00

Sale: $21.00

Club: $15.00

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 11/08/2011
{"id":"1588690","ean":"9780307934222","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life","subtitle":"The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life","author":"Sally Bedell Smith","rating_average":"3.5","narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","ubr_id":"1588690","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}