Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life, Sally Bedell Smith
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Author: Sally Bedell Smith

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor, Sally Bedell Smith

Unabridged: 18 hr 28 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/04/2017

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Royalty

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen comes the first major biography of Prince Charles in more than twenty years—perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than three hundred years. This vivid, eye-opening biography—the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more, some speaking on the record for the first time—is the first authoritative treatment of Charles’s life that sheds light on the death of Diana, his marriage to Camilla, and his preparations to take the throne one day.

Prince Charles brings to life the real man, with all of his ambitions, insecurities, and convictions. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father’s expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationships with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren.

Ranging from his glamorous palaces to his country homes, from his globe-trotting travels to his local initiatives, Smith shows how Prince Charles possesses a fiercely independent spirit and yet has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role, living a life dictated by protocols he often struggles to obey. With keen insight and the discovery of unexpected new details, Smith lays bare the contradictions of a man who is more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now.


With a Preface read by the Author


Advance praise for Prince Charles

“Prince Charles is an eighteenth-century gentleman with a twenty-first-century mission. His love of tradition combines with an outlook that can be bracingly avant garde. Sally Bedell Smith captures his contradictions and his convictions in this fascinating book that is not just about a man who would be king, but also about the duties that come with privilege.”—Walter Isaacson

“For all we know about Prince Charles, there is so much we didn’t know—until now. Sally Bedell Smith has given us a complete and compelling portrait of the man in the shadow of the throne. It’s all here, from the back stairs of the palaces to the front pages of the tabs. Read all about it!”—Tom Brokaw

Recommended

Mary Queen of Scots The True Life of Mary Stuart, John Guy
Mary Queen of Scots
by John Guy

In the first full-scale biography of Mary Stuart in more than thirty years, John Guy creates an intimate and absorbing portrait of one of history's most famous women, depicting her world and her place in the sweep of history with stunning immediacy....

Narrator: Lucy Rayner
Published: 12/07/2018

The Diana Chronicles, Tina Brown
The Diana Chronicles
by Tina Brown

Ten years after her death, Princess Diana remains a mystery. Was she “the people’s princess,” who electrified the world with her beauty and humanitarian missions? Or was she a manipulative, media-savvy neurotic who nearly brought d...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor,Tina Brown
Published: 06/12/2007

Elizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch, Sally Bedell Smith
Elizabeth the Queen
by Sally Bedell Smith

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we’ve known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy....

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Published: 01/10/2012

Elizabeth and Mary Cousins, Rivals, Queens, Jane Dunn
Elizabeth and Mary
by Jane Dunn

The first dual biography of two of the world’s most remarkable women—Elizabeth I of England and Mary Queen of Scots—by one of Britain’s “best biographers” (The Sunday Times).In a rich and riveting narrative, Jane ...

Narrator: Donada Peters,Isla Blair
Published: 01/06/2004

The Diana Chronicles, Tina Brown
The Diana Chronicles
by Tina Brown

"Intensely well researched and an un-put-down-able read, Tina Brown's extraordinary book parts the brocaded velvet and allows us an unprecedented look at the world and mind of the most famous person on the planet. A social commentary, a historical d...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor,Tina Brown
Published: 06/12/2007

American Princess The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, Leslie Carroll
American Princess
by Leslie Carroll

A behind-the-scenes look into the life of Meghan Markle and her romance with Prince Harry—a dishy, delightful must-listen filled with exclusive insights for anyone obsessed with the Royal Family.Leslie Carroll’s books on royalty are ...

Narrator: Andi Arndt
Published: 04/24/2018

Meghan A Hollywood Princess, Andrew Morton
Meghan
by Andrew Morton

The New York Times bestselling biography of Meghan Markle, the American actress who won Prince Harry's heart. Women who smash the royal mold have always fascinated the public, from Grace Kelly to Princess Diana. Now acclaimed royal biographer Andre...

Narrator: Charles Armstrong
Published: 04/17/2018

Elizabeth and Mary Cousins, Rivals, Queens, Jane Dunn
Elizabeth and Mary
by Jane Dunn

The first dual biography of two of the world’s most remarkable women—Elizabeth I of England and Mary Queen of Scots—by one of Britain’s “best biographers” (The Sunday Times).In a rich and riveting narrative, Jane ...

Narrator: Donada Peters,Isla Blair
Published: 10/15/2003

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, Robert K. Massie
Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman
by Robert K. Massie

The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourt...

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 11/08/2011
{"id":"1588690","ean":"9780307934222","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life","subtitle":"The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life","author":"Sally Bedell Smith","rating_average":"3.5","narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","ubr_id":"1588690","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}