Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood
  • List: $19.95  |  Sale: $13.97
    Club: $9.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Oryx and Crake

Author: Margaret Atwood

Series: The MaddAddam Trilogy #1

Narrator: Campbell Scott

Unabridged: 10 hr 30 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 05/06/2003

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

The Girl Who Played with Fire Book 2 of the Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Played with Fire
by Stieg Larsson

Mikael Blomkvist, crusading journalist and publisher of the magazine Millennium, has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation between Eastern Europe and Sweden, implicating well-known and highly placed members o...

Narrator: Simon Vance
Published: 07/28/2009

Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen
Water for Elephants
by Sara Gruen

Beautifully written, with a luminous sense of time and place, Water for Elephants tells of love in a world in which love's a luxury few can afford.

Narrator: David Ledoux
Published: 05/22/2006

Anansi Boys, Neil Gaiman
Anansi Boys
by Neil Gaiman

In this #1 New York Times bestseller, Neil Gaiman returns to the territory of his masterpiece, American Gods (soon to be a Starz Original Series) to once again probe the dark recesses of the soul.God is dead. Meet the kids.Fat Charlie Nancy’s...

Narrator: Lenny Henry
Published: 09/20/2005

Prep, Curtis Sittenfeld
Prep
by Curtis Sittenfeld

This New York Times best-seller is a funny and poignant coming-of-age story, a dead-on examination of adolescent angst, and a sharp criticism of America's social structure. Fourteen-year-old Lee Fiora enrolls at the prestigious Ault School of Massac...

Narrator: Julie Dretzin
Published: 05/02/2005

A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini
A Thousand Splendid Suns
by Khaled Hosseini

AFTER MORE THAN TWO YEARS ON THE BESTSELLER LISTS, KHALED HOSSEINI RETURNS WITH A BEAUTIFUL, RIVETING, AND HAUNTING NOVEL OF ENORMOUS CONTEMPORARY RELEVANCE. A Thousand Splendid Suns is a breathtaking story set against the volatile events of Afgha...

Narrator: Atossa Leoni
Published: 05/22/2007

The Road, Cormac McCarthy
The Road
by Cormac McCarthy

New territory for McCarthy: a post apocalyptic landscape where readers meet a man who recalls a better world and a boy who doesn’t. With all the trademarks of vintage McCarthy—a man and his young son, a blasted American landscape, sparse...

Narrator: Tom Stechschulte
Published: 09/05/2006

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Alexander McCall Smith
The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency
by Alexander McCall Smith

This remarkably fresh and charming best-seller took the WD by storm upon its publication. It has since earned two Booker Judges’ Special Recommendations and was voted one of the “International Books of the Year and the Millennium&rdqu...

Narrator: Lisette Lecat
Published: 04/25/2003

By the Light of the Moon, Dean Koontz
By the Light of the Moon
by Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz has surpassed his longtime reputation as “America’s most popular suspense novelist”(Rolling Stone) to become one of the most celebrated and successful writers of our time. Reviewers hail his boundless originality, his a...

Narrator: Stephen Lang
Published: 02/06/2007

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest Book 3 of the Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest
by Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander—the heart of Larsson’s two previous novels—lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if ...

Narrator: Reg Keeland
Published: 05/25/2010

The MaddAddam Trilogy Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from The MaddAddam Trilogy

Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood
The Year of the Flood, Margaret Atwood
MaddAddam, Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake
The MaddAddam Trilogy #1

The Year of the Flood
The MaddAddam Trilogy #2

MaddAddam
The MaddAddam Trilogy #3



Or Choose Any 3 Audiobooks From This Series >
{"id":"319886","ean":"9780739304082","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Oryx and Crake","subtitle":"","author":"Margaret Atwood","rating_average":"3.24","narrator":"Campbell Scott","series_id":"9609","ubr_id":"319886","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Campbell Scott","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}