Opium: A History A History, Martin Booth
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Opium: A History

Author: Martin Booth

Narrator: Julian Elfer

Unabridged: 13 hr 17 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 04/09/2019

Genre: Medical - Drug Guides

Synopsis

Known to mankind since prehistoric times, opium is arguably the oldest and most widely used narcotic. Opium: A History traces the drug's astounding impact on world culture—from its religious use by prehistoric peoples to its influence on the imaginations of the Romantic writers; from the earliest medical science to the Sino-British opium wars. And, in the present day, as the addict population rises and penetrates every walk of life, Opium shows how the international multibillion-dollar heroin industry operates with terrifying efficiency and forms an integral part of the world's money markets. In this first full-length history of opium, acclaimed author Martin Booth uncovers the multifaceted nature of this remarkable narcotic and the bittersweet effects of a simple poppy with a deadly legacy.

Recommended

The Stem Cell Hope How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives, Alice Park
The Stem Cell Hope
by Alice Park

A landmark book by the senior science writer at Time magazine introduces us to a medical breakthrough that can save our lives. Few people know much about stem cell research beyond the ethical questions raised by using embryos. But in the last deca...

Narrator: Walter Dixon
Published: 05/24/2011

The Nurses A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital, Alexandra Robbins
The Nurses
by Alexandra Robbins

Nursing is more than a career; it's a calling, and one of the most important fascinating, and dangerous professions in the world. As the frontline responders battling traumas, illnesses, and aggression from surprising sources, nurses are remarkable...

Narrator: Alexandra Robbins
Published: 04/19/2016

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between, Daniela Lamas
You Can Stop Humming Now
by Daniela Lamas

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being MortalFor readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medici...

Narrator: Daniela Lamas
Published: 03/27/2018

Undoctored Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor, William Davis, MD
Undoctored
by William Davis, MD

Conventional health care is no longer working in your favor?but thankfully, Dr. Davis is. In his New York Times bestseller Wheat Belly, Dr. William Davis changed the lives of millions of people by teaching them to remove grains from their diets to ...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 05/09/2017

Rabid A Cultural History of the Worlds Most Diabolical Virus, Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy
Rabid
by Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy

A maddened creature, frothing at the mouth, lunges at an innocent victim-and with a bite, transforms its prey into another raving monster. It's a scenario that underlies our darkest tales of supernatural horror, but its power derives from a very rea...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 07/19/2012

Better A Surgeon's Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
Better
by Atul Gawande

The struggle to perform well is universal: each one of us faces fatigue, limited resources, and imperfect abilities in whatever we do. But nowhere is this drive to do better more important than in medicine, where lives are on the line with every dec...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 04/03/2007

The Checklist Manifesto How to Get Things Right, Atul Gawande
The Checklist Manifesto
by Atul Gawande

The New York Times bestselling author of Better and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks the...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 12/22/2009

Clean Overcoming Addiction and Ending America’s Greatest Tragedy, David Sheff
Clean
by David Sheff

These facts are the foundation of Clean, a myth-shattering look at drug abuse by the author of Beautiful Boy. Based on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience, and medicine, Clean is a leap beyond the traditional approaches to prevention and...

Narrator: Jeff Cummings
Published: 04/02/2013

The Beauty of Dirty Skin The Surprising Science of Looking and Feeling Radiant from the Inside Out, Whitney Bowe
The Beauty of Dirty Skin
by Whitney Bowe

Internationally renowned dermatologist and research scientist Dr. Whitney Bowe presents, for the first time, the connection between a healthy gut and radiant, clear skin, with a 21-day program to maximize skin health and beauty.Every year, nearly 8...

Narrator: Whitney Bowe
Published: 04/17/2018
{"id":"3054030","ean":"9781977344243","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Opium: A History","subtitle":"A History","author":"Martin Booth","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Julian Elfer","ubr_id":"3054030","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Julian Elfer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr 0 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}