On the Black Hill: A Novel, Bruce Chatwin
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

On the Black Hill: A Novel

Author: Bruce Chatwin

Narrator: Simon Mattacks

Unabridged: 7 hr 55 min

Format: Digital Audiobook (DRM Protected)

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 07/23/2019

Genre: Fiction - Classics

Synopsis

Whitbread Award Winner: A novel by the author of In Patagonia, about a pair of twins and their long, remarkable lives in the farmlands of Wales.For forty-two years, identical twins Lewis and Benjamin Jones have shared a bed, a farm, and a life. But the world has scarred and warped them each in different ways. Lewis is sturdy, still strong enough at eighty to wield an ax all day, and though he's hardly ever ventured outside his little village on the English border, he dreams of far-off lands. Benjamin is gentler, a cook whose favorite task is delivering baby lambs, and even in his old age, he remains devoted to the memory of his mother.The unusual twins have seen a country change and an empire fall, and in their shared memory lies an epic story of the century that remade Britain. From the stories of their father's youth to their own dotage, there is nothing these farmers haven't seen—or heard.Famed travel author Bruce Chatwin brings his unique understanding of landscape and culture to his debut novel, an intense examination of a little patch of Wales. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Whitbread Literary Award, and written in the tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Mayor of Casterbridge, this entry on the list of "1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die" is an all-time classic from the author of bestsellers such as In Patagonia and The Songlines.

Recommended

The Old Man and the Sea, Ernest Hemingway
The Old Man and the Sea
by Ernest Hemingway

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Donald Sutherland
Published: 05/01/2006

The Jungle Book, Rudyard Kipling
The Jungle Book
by Rudyard Kipling

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Samantha Novak
Published: 05/17/2020

A Christmas Carol: Being a Ghost Story of Christmas, Charles Dickens
A Christmas Carol: Being a Ghost Stor...
by Charles Dickens

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Stephen Gillikin
Published: 05/17/2020

A Study In Scarlet, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
A Study In Scarlet
by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Travis Burton
Published: 06/10/2020

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
by Lewis Carroll

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Samantha Novak
Published: 05/17/2020

Siddhartha, Herman Hesse
Siddhartha
by Herman Hesse

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Samantha Novak
Published: 05/17/2020

As A Man Thinketh, James Allen
As A Man Thinketh
by James Allen

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Travis Burton
Published: 06/10/2020

Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie
Peter Pan
by J.M. Barrie

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Samantha Novak
Published: 05/17/2020

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
by L. Frank Baum

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Samantha Novak
Published: 05/17/2020
{"id":"3172161","ean":"9781978658400","abr":"Unabridged","title":"On the Black Hill: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Bruce Chatwin","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Simon Mattacks","ubr_id":"3172161","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Simon Mattacks","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}