Noncompliant: A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street, Carmen Segarra
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Noncompliant: A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street

Author: Carmen Segarra

Narrator: Roxana Ortega

Unabridged: 13 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 10/16/2018

Genre: True Crime - White Collar Crime

Synopsis

A first-hand account of the oversight of the big banks in the wake of the financial crisis, from the Federal Reserve examiner who refused to be silencedIn 2011, Carmen Segarra took a job as at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York supervising for Goldman Sachs. It was an opportunity, she believed, to monitor the big bank's behavior in order to avoid another financial crisis.Segarra was shocked to discover, however, the full extent of the relationship between Goldman and the Fed. She began making secret recordings that later became the basis of a This American Life episode that exposed the Fed's ineffectiveness in holding banks accountable.In Noncompliant, Segarra chronicles her experience blowing open the doors on the relationship between the big banks and the government bodies set up to regulate them.As we mark the tenth anniversary of the 2008 financial crisis, Noncompliant shows us how little has changed, and offers an urgent call for real reforms.

Recommended

DarkMarket Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You, Misha Glenny
DarkMarket
by Misha Glenny

"This extraordinarily powerful book demonstrates how utterly we lack the shared supranational tools needed to fight cybercrime. Essential reading." --Roberto Saviano, author of GommorahThe benefits of living in a digital, globalized society are enor...

Narrator: Jonathan Cowley
Published: 10/04/2011

Filthy Rich A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein, James Patterson
Filthy Rich
by James Patterson

A shocking true crime tale of money, power, and sex from the world's most popular thriller writer.Jeffrey Epstein rose from humble origins to the rarefied heights of New York City's financial elite. A college dropout with an instinct for numbers--a...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 10/10/2016

Heist The Oddball Crew behind the $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft, Jeff Diamant
Heist
by Jeff Diamant

The bizarre true story of the criminals behind the second-largest bank heist in American history One night in a small North Carolina town, a down-on-his-luck guard at Loomis Fargo manages to steal $17 millionliterally more than one ton of cash. Des...

Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Published: 08/04/2015

Kingdom of Lies Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
Kingdom of Lies
by Kate Fazzini

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.” —Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frigh...

Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Published: 06/11/2019

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 08/11/2009

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 12/27/2005

Just Desserts, Katy Vine
Just Desserts
by Katy Vine

In partnership with Texas Monthly, Katy Vine's "Just Desserts" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins led a perfectly ...

Narrator: Lydia Mackay
Published: 01/09/2018

Chasing Phil The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man, David Howard
Chasing Phil
by David Howard

A thrilling true crime caper, bursting with colorful characters and awash in ‘70s glamour, that spotlights the FBI's first white-collar undercover sting   1977, the Thunderbird Motel. J.J. Wedick and Jack Brennan—two fresh-faced, ma...

Narrator: Joe Ochman
Published: 10/10/2017

Why They Do It Inside the Mind of the White-Collar Criminal, Eugene Soltes
Why They Do It
by Eugene Soltes

Drawing on intimate details from personal visits, letters, and phone calls with former executives turned white-collar criminals, as well as psychological, sociological, and historical research, Why They Do It is a breakthrough look at the dark side ...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/11/2016
{"id":"2561057","ean":"9781549195181","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Noncompliant: A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street","subtitle":"A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street","author":"Carmen Segarra","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Roxana Ortega","ubr_id":"2561057","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Roxana Ortega","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}