Night Film, Marisha Pessl
  • List: $30.00  |  Sale: $21.00
    Club: $15.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Night Film

Author: Marisha Pessl

Narrator: Jake Weber

Unabridged: 23 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/20/2013

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Includes a bonus PDF of interactive images


Praise for Night Film
 
“Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”—The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”—USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”—The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”—New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”—Vanity Fair

Recommended

A Minute to Midnight, David Baldacci
A Minute to Midnight
by David Baldacci

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Published: 11/19/2019

The Guardians A Novel, John Grisham
The Guardians
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 10/15/2019

A Conspiracy of Bones, Kathy Reichs
A Conspiracy of Bones
by Kathy Reichs

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Linda Emond
Published: 03/17/2020

Outfox, Sandra Brown
Outfox
by Sandra Brown

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Victor Slezak
Published: 08/06/2019

Camino Winds, John Grisham
Camino Winds
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 04/28/2020

The Institute A Novel, Stephen King
The Institute
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Santino Fontana
Published: 09/10/2019

The 20th Victim, James Patterson
The 20th Victim
by James Patterson

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 05/04/2020

One Good Deed, David Baldacci
One Good Deed
by David Baldacci

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club Sale: $13.49

Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Published: 07/23/2019

If It Bleeds, Stephen King
If It Bleeds
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 04/28/2020
{"id":"318334","ean":"9780307932662","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Night Film","subtitle":"","author":"Marisha Pessl","rating_average":"4.21","narrator":"Jake Weber","ubr_id":"318334","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"30.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.50","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jake Weber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 23 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}