Night Film, Marisha Pessl
  • List: $30.00  |  Sale: $21.00
    Club: $15.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Night Film

Author: Marisha Pessl

Narrator: Jake Weber

Unabridged: 23 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/20/2013

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Includes a bonus PDF of interactive images


Praise for Night Film
 
“Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”—The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”—USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”—The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”—New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”—Vanity Fair

Recommended

Angels & Demons, Dan Brown
Angels & Demons
by Dan Brown

The explosive Robert Langdon thriller from Dan Brown, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Da Vinci Code and Inferno—now a major film directed by Ron Howard and starring Tom Hanks and Felicity Jones.An ancient secret brotherhood. A ...

Narrator: Richard Poe
Published: 09/01/2003

A Week in Winter, Maeve Binchy
A Week in Winter
by Maeve Binchy

Stoneybridge is a small town on the west coast of Ireland where all the families know one another. When Chicky Starr decides to take an old, decaying mansion set high on the cliffs overlooking the windswept Atlantic Ocean and turn it into a restful ...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Published: 02/12/2013

The Stand, Stephen King
The Stand
by Stephen King

This is the way the world ends: with a nanosecond of computer error in a Defense Department laboratory and a million casual contacts that form the links in a chain letter of death.And here is the bleak new world of the day after: a world stripped of...

Narrator: Grover Gardner
Published: 02/14/2012

The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
The Goldfinch
by Donna Tartt

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE"The Goldfinch is a rarity that comes along perhaps half a dozen times per decade, a smartly written literary novel that connects with the heart as well as the mind....Donna Tartt has delivered an extraordinary work of f...

Narrator: David Pittu
Published: 10/22/2013

Angels & Demons, Dan Brown
Angels & Demons
by Dan Brown

The explosive Robert Langdon thriller from Dan Brown, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Da Vinci Code and Inferno—now a major film directed by Ron Howard and starring Tom Hanks and Felicity Jones.An ancient secret brotherhood. A ...

Narrator: Richard Poe
Published: 09/01/2003

Special Topics in Calamity Physics, Marisha Pessl
Special Topics in Calamity Physics
by Marisha Pessl

The mesmerizing New York Times bestseller by the author of Night FilmMarisha Pessl’s dazzling debut sparked raves from critics and heralded the arrival of a vibrant new voice in American fiction. At the center of Special Topics in Calamit...

Narrator: Emily Janice Card
Published: 05/10/2007

The Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Angel's Game
by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

From master storyteller Carlos Ruiz Zafón, author of the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, comes The Angel’s Game—a dazzling new page-turner about the perilous nature of obsession, in literature and in love.“The...

Narrator: Dan Stevens
Published: 06/16/2009

It, Stephen King
It
by Stephen King

Now a major motion picture Stephen King’s terrifying, classic #1 New York Times bestseller, “a landmark in American literature” (Chicago Sun-Times)—about seven adults who return to their hometown to confront a nightmare they ...

Narrator: Steven Weber
Published: 01/01/2016

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Annie Barrows
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Annie Barrows

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name. “Treat yourself to this book, please—I can&rsquo...

Narrator: Various
Published: 07/29/2008
{"id":"318334","ean":"9780307932662","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Night Film","subtitle":"","author":"Marisha Pessl","rating_average":"4.21","narrator":"Jake Weber","ubr_id":"318334","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"30.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.50","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jake Weber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 23 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}