Nevertheless, We Persisted: 48 Voices of Defiance, Strength, and Courage 48 Voices of Defiance, Strength, and Courage, Amy Klobuchar
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Nevertheless, We Persisted: 48 Voices of Defiance, Strength, and Courage

Author: Amy Klobuchar

Narrator: Amy Klobuchar,

Unabridged: 7 hr 5 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 10/30/2018

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Social Activists

Includes: Bonus PDF

Ages: 12 - UP

Synopsis

A powerful collection of essays from actors, activists, athletes, politicians, musicians, writers, and teens, including Senator Amy Klobuchar, actress Alia Shawkat, actor Maulik Pancholy, poet Azure Antoinette, teen activist Gavin Grimm, and many, many more, each writing about a time in their youth when they were held back because of their race, gender, or sexual identity--but persisted.

"Aren't you a terrorist?" "There are no roles for people who look like you." "That's a sin." "No girls allowed." They've heard it all. Actress Alia Shawkat reflects on all the parts she was told she was too "ethnic" to play. Former NFL player Wade Davis recalls his bullying of gay classmates in an attempt to hide his own sexuality. Teen Gavin Grimm shares the story that led to the infamous "bathroom bill," and how he's fighting it. Holocaust survivor Fanny Starr tells of her harrowing time in Aushwitz, where she watched her family disappear, one by one.

What made them rise up through the hate? What made them overcome the obstacles of their childhood to achieve extraordinary success? How did they break out of society's limited view of who they are and find their way to the beautiful and hard-won lives they live today? With a foreword by Minnesota senator and up-and-coming Democratic party leader Amy Klobuchar, these essays share deeply personal stories of resilience, faith, love, and, yes, persistence. 

"Each tale is a soulful testament to the endurance of the human spirit and reminds readers that they are not alone in their search for self. An unflinchingly honest book that should be required reading for every young person in America."--Kirkus, Starred review

"An invaluable collection of snapshots of American society."--VOYA, Starred review

"[A] gem of a book. . . There's a lot to study here and talk about on the way to becoming kinder, more empathetic, and most important, compassionate."--Booklist

"Readers encountering injustice in their own lives may be compelled to take heart--and even action."--Publishers Weekly

"A powerful collection of voices."--SLJ

Recommended

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

Shyima Hall was born in Egypt on September 29, 1989, the seventh child of desperately poor parents. When she was eight, her parents sold her into slavery. Shyima then moved two hours away to Egypt's capitol city of Cairo to live with a wealthy famil...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014

Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Isla...

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows you how to make a difference to e...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Being Jazz My Life as a (Transgender) Teen, Jazz Jennings
Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vi...

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turn...

Narrator: Wes Moore
Published: 06/11/2013

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

This is the memoir written by Bella Kuligowska Zucker, the only person in her family to survive the Holocaust. In September 1939, Bella was a carefree teenager living in Poland when the German army struck. She was rounded up with her friends and fam...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

Discover Aly Raisman's inspiring story of dedication, perseverance, and learning to think positive even in the toughest times on her path to gold medal success in two Olympic Games--and beyond. Aly Raisman first stepped onto a gymnastics mat as a t...

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017
{"id":"2500961","ean":"9781984887054","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Nevertheless, We Persisted: 48 Voices of Defiance, Strength, and Courage","subtitle":"48 Voices of Defiance, Strength, and Courage","author":"Amy Klobuchar","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Amy Klobuchar,","ubr_id":"2500961","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Amy Klobuchar,","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}