My Mother's House: A novel, Francesca Momplaisir
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

My Mother's House: A novel

Author: Francesca Momplaisir

Narrator: Karen Chilton, Janina Edwards, Dion Graham

Unabridged: 10 hr 23 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 05/12/2020

Genre: Fiction - Magic Realism

Synopsis

"A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence . . . This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison's Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy to try to assert truths that ordinary language and realistic imagery cannot communicate . . . Momplaisir's debut introduces her as an author to watch." --Kirkus

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City's South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a rundown house in a community that is quickly changing from an Italian enclave of mobsters to a haven for Haitian immigrants, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay--"my mother's house"--and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn't, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can't even begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien's ultimate evil.
    At once an uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and an electrifying page-turner, My Mother's House is a singular, unforgettable achievement.

Recommended

Wind/Pinball Two novels, Haruki Murakami
Wind/Pinball
by Haruki Murakami

List: $20.00

On Sale: $4.99

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

The Lonely Hearts Hotel A Novel, Heather O'Neill
The Lonely Hearts Hotel
by Heather O'Neill

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 05/09/2017

Before the Coffee Gets Cold A Novel, Toshikazu Kawaguchi
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Arina Ii
Published: 11/17/2020

Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Hear the Wind Sing
by Haruki Murakami

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Year...
by Haruki Murakami

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Philip Gabriel
Published: 08/12/2014

The City We Became A Novel, N. K. Jemisin
The City We Became
by N. K. Jemisin

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Robin Miles
Published: 03/24/2020

All the Names They Used for God Stories, Anjali Sachdeva
All the Names They Used for God
by Anjali Sachdeva

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 02/20/2018

A House at the Bottom of a Lake, Josh Malerman
A House at the Bottom of a Lake
by Josh Malerman

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez , Taylor Meskimen
Published: 01/19/2021

Pinball, 1973, Haruki Murakami
Pinball, 1973
by Haruki Murakami

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015
{"id":"3954433","ean":"9780593169599","abr":"Unabridged","title":"My Mother's House: A novel","subtitle":"A novel","author":"Francesca Momplaisir","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Karen Chilton","ubr_id":"3954433","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Karen Chilton","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 23 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}