My First Summer in the Sierra, John Muir
  • List: $22.99  |  Sale: $16.09
    Club: $11.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

My First Summer in the Sierra

Author: John Muir

Narrator: Barry Press

Unabridged: 6 hr 48 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Dreamscape Media

Published: 06/27/2017

Genre: Nature - Ecosystems & Habitats - Wilderness

Synopsis

In the summer of 1869, John Muir, a young Scottish immigrant, joined a crew of shepherds in the foothills of California's Sierra Nevada Mountains. The diary he kept while tending sheep formed the heart of this book, which was first published in 1911 and which eventually lured thousands of Americans to visit Yosemite country. My First Summer in the Sierra incorporates the lyrical accounts and sketches Muir produced during his four-month stay in the Yosemite River Valley and the High Sierra. His daily records track his memorable experiences, describing in picturesque terms the majestic vistas, flora and fauna, and other breathtaking natural wonders of the area. Today, Muir is recognized as one of the most important and influential naturalists and nature writers in America. This book, the most popular of the authors works, will delight environmentalists and nature lovers with its exuberant observations.

Recommended

Definitely Hispanic Essays on Growing Up Latino and Celebrating What Unites Us, LeJuan James
Definitely Hispanic
by LeJuan James

Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor and Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan Jam...

Narrator: LeJuan James
Published: 06/04/2019

All the Pieces Matter The Inside Story of The Wire®, Jonathan Abrams
All the Pieces Matter
by Jonathan Abrams

The definitive oral history of the iconic and beloved TV show The Wire, as told by the actors, writers, directors, and others involved in its creationSince its final episode aired in 2008, HBO's acclaimed crime drama The Wire has only become more po...

Narrator: Jonathan Abrams
Published: 02/13/2018

The World of Downton Abbey, Jessica Fellowes
The World of Downton Abbey
by Jessica Fellowes

A lavish look at the real world--both the secret history and the behind-the-scenes drama--of the spellbinding Emmy Award-winning Masterpiece TV series Downton AbbeyApril 1912. The sun is rising behind Downton Abbey, a great and splendid house in a g...

Narrator: Julian Fellowes
Published: 02/10/2012

Brain Lock, Jeffrey M. Schwartz
Brain Lock
by Jeffrey M. Schwartz

The 20th anniversary edition of the definitive classic on defeating obsessive-compulsive behavior, with all-new material from the author.An estimated 5 million Americans suffer from obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and live diminished lives in w...

Narrator: Jeffrey M. Schwartz
Published: 07/28/2009

The Quest Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World, Daniel Yergin
The Quest
by Daniel Yergin

This long-awaited successor to Daniel Yergin’s Pulitzer Prize-winning The Prize provides an essential, overarching narrative of global energy, the principal engine of geopolitical and economic changeA master storyteller as well as a ...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/20/2011

New Wine Rules, The A Genuinely Helpful Guide to Everything You Need to Know, Jon Bonne
New Wine Rules, The
by Jon Bonne

Matt Kramer, author and columnist for Wine Spectator, calls The New California Wine some of the most insightful wine writing you'll read anywhere, claiming it offers the real skinny on cutting-edge California wine. Hugh Johnson, the author of The Wo...

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Published: 11/14/2017

Springfield Confidential Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons, Mike Reiss
Springfield Confidential
by Mike Reiss

In celebration of The Simpsons thirtieth anniversary, the show’s longest-serving writer and producer offers a humorous look at the writing and making of the legendary Fox series that has become one of the most revered artistic achievements in...

Narrator: Mike Reiss
Published: 06/12/2018

I'll Be There for You: The One about Friends, Kelsey Miller
I'll Be There for You: The One about Friends
by Kelsey Miller

An InStyle 10 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This OctoberSIX FRIENDS THAT BECAME A FAMILY.A TELEVISION SHOW THAT BECAME A PHENOMENON.Today, Friends is remembered as an icon of ’90s comedy and the Must See TV years. But when the series deb...

Narrator: Amber Benson
Published: 10/23/2018

The New Case for Gold, James Rickards
The New Case for Gold
by James Rickards

**USA Today bestseller and Wall Street Journal business bestseller**They say John Maynard Keynes called gold a "barbarous relic." They say there isn’t enough gold to support finance and commerce. They say the gold supply can’t increase f...

Narrator: James Rickards
Published: 04/05/2016
{"id":"1700885","ean":"9781520077970","abr":"Unabridged","title":"My First Summer in the Sierra","subtitle":"","author":"John Muir","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Barry Press","ubr_id":"1700885","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Barry Press","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 48 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}